Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Using Our Collections

Using the Archives during COVID-19

The UMD Archives is currently closed, but we can answer questions by email and phone, and provide a limited number of scans of requested research materials. Please let us know if you are a current UMD student, staff, or faculty member who needs archival materials for a class or work related project as we will prioritize those requests. 

During June 2021, the UMD Archives will be unable to respond to most research requests because the staff will be focusing on a collections maintenance project. We are sorry for the inconvenience to researchers and look forward to working with you again soon. 

Questions? Contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or 218-726-8526.

Please contribute to the Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project.

Making Scans of Archival Materials

Researchers working in the Research Room are encouraged to use their phone or other mobile device to photograph materials. There is also an iPad available in the Research Room for researchers to use to photograph materials.

Archives staff can make a limited number of scans or photocopies for distance and in-person researchers. Because of staffing limitations, we generally do not scan or copy more than 20 pages per researcher per month. We are unable to scan or copy entire collections. We may not be able to complete your copies or scans on the same day they are requested.

For the safety of our collections, personal scanners are not allowed.

Scanning Your Own Materials On Campus

The UMD Archives does not have a scanning service for materials that are not part of our collections.

Below are some options for scanning and copying materials on campus.

Scanning Documents in the Library

UMD Print Shop

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)