Permission to use materials does not convey permission to publish them. UMD can grant permission to publish only those materials for which it holds the intellectual property rights. In giving such permission, UMD does not surrender its own right to publish the same materials nor its right to permit others to do so. Publication of images from the collections requires a use contract.  If you have questions about access, permissions, copyright, or citation, contact the staff at libarchives@d.umn.edu or 218-726-8526.

It is a researcher’s responsibility to determine copyright status and obtain all needed permissions.

It is not necessary to seek the Library’s permission as the owner of the physical work to publish or otherwise use public domain materials that the Library has made available either online or directly to you from our collections.

For more information, see:

Citations to records and papers held by the UMD Archives and Special Collections should indicate clearly the source of materials used. Proper citation helps both the researcher who may wish to see records a second time and the Archives staff who may be asked to locate complete texts of cited documents.

We have no preferred citation style or format, but ask that you include the following elements in any citation:

• A clear identification of the item you are citing
• The name of the collection from which the item comes
• Collection or accession number, box number and folder number
• Our name: Archives and Special Collections, Martin Library, University of Minnesota Duluth

When you include our materials in your publication, we would love to receive a copy. We are interested in your work and would like to share it with other researchers who might be looking at similar material.

Examples:

Manuscript collections (all archives collections except those documenting the history of the University of Minnesota Duluth):

Report of Duluth Fair Employment Practices Commission to the City Council of Duluth, June 1958, William F. Maupins Papers, S2367, Box 1, Archives and Special Collections, Martin Library, University of Minnesota Duluth.

University of Minnesota Duluth Archives collections:

Photograph of Michael Berman, 1980, Michael S. Berman Political Collection, 1273, Box 6, Archives and Special Collections, Martin Library, University of Minnesota Duluth.

When space considerations preclude such a caption, a shorter version may be used:

Courtesy of Archives and Special Collections, University of Minnesota Duluth. [collection name.]

More information on citations and appropriate documentation style: