Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Using Our Collections

Using the Archives during COVID-19

The UMD Archives is currently closed, but we can answer questions by email and phone, and provide a limited number of scans of requested research materials. Please let us know if you are a current UMD student, staff, or faculty member who needs archival materials for a class or work related project as we will prioritize those requests. 

During June 2021, the UMD Archives will be unable to respond to most research requests because the staff will be focusing on a collections maintenance project. We are sorry for the inconvenience to researchers and look forward to working with you again soon. 

Questions? Contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or 218-726-8526.

Please contribute to the Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project.

Start Your Research

Archives staff can assist with your research in-person, by email, or over the phone. Please contact us before your visit. We can help you identify which of our resources will be most useful to you. If you are unable to visit the archives, we may be able to locate and scan a limited number of materials for you.

The collections housed here include those owned by the University of Minnesota Duluth and the Northeastern Minnesota Historical Collections which are on permanent loan from the St. Louis County Historical Society.

Archives Hours Available by Appointment

Make an appointment to use the archives by emailing libarchives@d.umn.edu or calling  218-726-8526. Appointments are generally scheduled Monday - Friday between the hours of 8:30 - Noon and 1:00 - 4:30 pm. Please ask if you need an appointment outside of these hours.

Location & Parking Information

Location:

Library Annex 202
Kathryn A. Martin Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, Minnesota 55812

Metered parking ($1.25/hour) is available directly in front of the Library and takes both quarters and credit cards. Meters are enforced weekdays 6am-5pm, year-round. In addition, visitor parking is available in Pay Lot G for $5.00 for the day or $3.00 for entry after 1pm. Here is more information on visitor parking at UMD.

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)