Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Using Our Collections

Using the Archives during COVID-19

The UMD Archives is currently closed, but we can answer questions by email and phone, and provide a limited number of scans of requested research materials. Please let us know if you are a current UMD student, staff, or faculty member who needs archival materials for a class or work related project as we will prioritize those requests. 

During June 2021, the UMD Archives will be unable to respond to most research requests because the staff will be focusing on a collections maintenance project. We are sorry for the inconvenience to researchers and look forward to working with you again soon. 

Questions? Contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or 218-726-8526.

Please contribute to the Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project.

Research Services

The UMD Archives staff can assist researchers in identifying materials held by the UMD Archives on their topics of interest, but they cannot provide complex or broad-based research services. If you are unable to come to the archives and the materials needed are not available online, another option is to hire an independent researcher. A few local researchers are listed below. Contact the researchers directly for further information on their research areas, experience, and fees.

 

Zenith City Historic Research

Chupurdia, Vickie Association of Professional Genealogists

Sher, Joanne M Association of Professional Genealogists

Disclaimer: The Kathryn A. Martin Library at the University of Minnesota Duluth does not endorse any independent researcher. Neither the Library nor the University can vouch for the quality of the services provided; neither are responsible for the results provided. Any agreement for research must be solely between the patron and the contract researcher.

The Minnesota Historical Society, which also holds materials on Northeastern Minnesota, offers a wide range of Research Services and maintains a list of Independent Researchers

Research Services | Library - Minnesota Historical Society

Independent Researchers | Library - Visit - Minnesota Historical Society

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)