Aurora Northland Lesbian Center was founded in Duluth, Minnesota in 1988 as the Lesbian Task Force. The group incorporated that year as Elsie Center then changed its name in 1989 to Aurora: A Northland Lesbian Center. The non-profit organization was based on a membership model, with a board of directors, volunteers, and, in some years, a paid staff member. Originally located at 8 North Second Avenue East, the Center moved into Duluth’s Building for Women at 32 East First Street in 1994.

Aurora provided a drop-in center, library, newsletter, referrals by phone and in person, and social events. Aurora members produced the annual Northern Lights Womyn’s Music Festival from 1990 to 1998. Decreasing membership and a lack of funding led to Aurora’s closure in 2012.

The 1988 articles of incorporation included these goals:

To increase self-acceptance, self-esteem and positive social identification among lesbian women

To promote awareness, education, and advocacy on lesbian issues and concerns in the community at large

To provide lesbian groups and individuals with a safe, sober-supportive environment conducive to meaningful, affirmative social interaction

To increase networking and communication among lesbians in the Duluth-Superior area and the Greater Northeast Minnesota region

To promote women’s cultural enrichment, with special consideration for lesbian culture

To sponsor events and activities that will further accomplish the goals stated above

The collection consists of Bartlett’s written histories of feminist organizations in Duluth and Superior that were not included in her book Making Waves: Grassroots Feminism in Duluth and Superior (2016) and recorded interviews with women who played key roles in these organizations. Several of the interviews are with lesbian feminists.

The GLBT Advisory Commission collection contains a history of their work from 1990 to 2010. As of 2019 it is known as the GLBTQAI (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Asexual & Intersex) Commission. Founded in 1990 as a response to an unsafe climate for LGBTQ students, the commission works with students and administrators to create a safer, more tolerant UMD through advocacy and policy change. They also collaborate with other campus and local groups to create social events that bring together members of the LGBTQ and allied community. The collection includes meeting minutes, correspondence, budgets, and flyers for events.

Robert Jansen, born in 1949 in Wisconsin, is a long-time activist for LGBTQIA rights. After earning his undergraduate and master’s degrees from the University of Wisconsin Superior, he taught in the theater department at California State University Fresno from 1973-1976. He returned to the Twin Ports intending to teach theater. He founded the Daisy Hill Theater as an assistant professor at a small, private college in Duluth, The College of St. Scholastica. In 1980, the Daisy Hill Theater was selected to host the First Annual Children’s Theater Festival in the state of Minnesota. His teaching career ended at The College of St. Scholastica in a complex legal action over denial of tenure that concluded with a monetary settlement. Jansen then bought and rebuilt an old, modest tavern in Superior, Wisconsin that he refurbished. The establishment became The Main, a popular gay night club and bar on the main street of Superior, Wisconsin. The Main was a gathering and organizing space for the LGBTQIA+ community in the Twin Ports and surrounding rural areas.

This collection includes photographs, slides, membership cards, and other materials related to Jansen's activism and LGBTQ+ community building activities.

The North Country Women’s Coffeehouse held its first performance on May 1, 1981 in Duluth, Minnesota. The Coffeehouse was founded to create a “safe space” for women to gather, visit, hear music, and build community. Articles of Incorporation for the Coffeehouse were signed in December, 1981; it was recognized as a non-profit, tax exempt 501(c)(3) organization in 1982. The Coffeehouse was originally held in the Unitarian Church building, 1802 East First, and then moved to the Building for Women, 32 East First Street, in the fall of 1994.

The articles of incorporation describe the purpose of the organization as “(1) Cultural. To provide a forum for women artists and musician; and to provide entertainment by and for women. (2) Educational and Consciousness-Raising. To provide intellectual stimulation on issues of concern to women; to provide a setting conducive to the discussion of feminist or alternative ideologies; to raise a sense of responsibility of women to women; to raise a sense of women’s collective power; to facilitate an acceptance of women’s sexuality, i.e., heterosexuality, lesbianism, bisexuality and asexuality; and to facilitate a sense of lesbian identity and power. (3) Social. To provide a meeting place for women; and to promote an acceptance of the diversity of women’s lifestyles.”

Performers included women musicians and poets from Duluth and the surrounding area, from the Twin Cities area, and musicians of national stature. Many of the performers were a part of the women’s music movement. Women’s music presented women-identified lyrics, encouraged women to pursue careers in all aspects of the music industry by providing hands on experience, and served as a catalyst for building community among women. The Coffeehouse also showed films of interest to women, presented speakers on various topics , and held an annual holiday talent show. Events at the coffeehouse were open to women and men.

Contains articles from the student newspaper, The Statesman from 1991 and 1993, as well as a memo from the University Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual Alliance from 1992. The articles are mostly op-eds about homosexuality and homophobia. Two students wrote an opinion piece opposing SSF funding for ULGBA, and replies came from members of the GLBT Advisory Commission, other UMD students, and a Denfeld high school student. The articles vary from pro-LGBTQ to anti, as well as opinions in between.

Contains student organization registration and renewal documents from 2000 to 2008 and a 2010 article from the student newspaper. The mission of the Queer and Allied Student Union is to celebrate the diversity and culture of the queer community, engage socially and recreationally to create a sense of belonging among members, educate ourselves and the campus community on issues pertinent to the lives of queer students, empower queer individuals and organizations, and advocate for inclusion, equality, and social justice, of all persons. QASU hosts events such as the UMD drag show twice a year and Queer Prom. They are currently operating out of the Multicultural Center in their office called “The Qube.”

Contains a “genderbread person” infographic, emails, and the TRANS*FORMATION pamphlet. TRANS*FORMATION was a short lived student organization from 2012-2013 that strove to assist transgender students with the legal work of transitioning, such as name changes and access to healthcare. They also worked to provide financial assistance for legal fees, increase trans and gender non-conforming visibility on campus, and to host ally training.

Contains articles and op-eds from the student newspaper, The Statesman, from 1989 to 1995, posters for Illusion Theater’s production of Amazing Grace, a ULGBA memo, and a “This Way Out Northland” invitation. Several of the op-eds, from late 1993 to early 1994, regard a conflict over the College Republicans’ “Heterosexual Coming Out Day” event, held October 29th, 1993. Many of the objectors were members of ULGBA, whose responses and counter op-eds are in this file.

Contains articles from the student newspaper, The Statesman, and registration documents for ULGBTA. ULGBTA is the same group as ULGBA following a name change in 1999 to include transgender people. Three of the articles are about the controversy of ULGBTA being the only campus group to not receive SSF (student service fees) funding in spring of 2000, despite the Student Association’s recommendation to approve it. No other student groups were denied funding.

Contains the course offering for Fall of 2013 from the Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies department. The Women’s Studies department was renamed to include Gender and Sexuality in December of 2012.