Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Donating Materials to the Archives

The Archives is open online, but not for appointments in person due to COVID-19.

Find out more about current Archives Services. 

Please contribute to the Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project.

What We Collect

The Kathryn A. Martin Library's Archives and Special Collections department collects, organizes, and preserves the historical record of the University of Minnesota Duluth and the history of the surrounding region of Northern Minnesota. Our priorities in adding to the Archives and Special Collections are undergraduate curricular support and the preservation of the history of the University of Minnesota Duluth and Northeastern Minnesota. 

Review this guide, including the links on the left, for an overview of the types of materials we collect. Please contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or 218-726-8526 to discuss a potential donation.

What We Don't Collect

With rare exceptions, we do not collect the following:

  • Materials that are not related to the history of the University of Minnesota Duluth or Northeastern Minnesota
  • Historic objects such as medals, trophies, tools and appliances, farm equipment, uniforms and other textiles, etc.
  • Copies of original materials

Potential donations that fall outside of our collecting scope may be referred to other archives or museums.

The Archives does not purchase materials.

Donor Agreement Form

Donors should be aware that all gifts are accepted with the understanding that upon receipt the University becomes the owner of the material and, as such, reserves the right to determine retention, location, cataloging treatment, and other considerations relating to the use and disposition.

See below for our Donor Agreement form:

All potential donations must be approved by the Archivist before the transfer of any materials.

Please contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or 218-726-8526 to discuss a potential donation.

Appraisals and Tax Information

In certain circumstances, it may be possible for a donor to take a tax deduction for the donation of a collection to a repository. Speak with your tax accountant or attorney about this possibility. Archivists cannot give tax advice nor are they permitted to appraise the monetary value of a collection that is under consideration for donation to their repository.  It is up to you, as the donor, to arrange and pay for any such appraisal (from the Society of American Archivists brochure Donating Your Personal or Family Records to a Repository.)

 

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)