Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Donating Materials to the Archives

The Archives is open online, but not for appointments in person due to COVID-19.

Find out more about current Archives Services. 

Please contribute to the Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project.

UMD University Archives

The University of Minnesota Duluth Archives collects materials that document the history of the University, including student life and faculty work.

Internal Transfers to the University Archives

Are you a UMD employee or student transferring records from a UMD department, office, college, or other campus group?

Please contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu with the following information:

  • Name of department or campus organization
  • Format of the records: hard copy and/or digital
  • Approximate date span of records
  • Summary of contents (examples: student group flyers and buttons; self study report and correspondence, 1980-1981; curriculum planning files and minutes, 1991-1994, video of homecoming 2001; audio recordings of KUMD radio programming)
  • Total number of boxes or folders / items if in hard copy

Donations to the University Archives by Alumni and Community Members

Please contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or 218-726-8526 to discuss a possible donation. Please be ready to discuss the following information:

  • Type of material that you wish to donate (examples: UMD publications, student work, photographs, etc.)
  • Format of the materials: hard copy and/or digital
  • Date span of materials
  • Total number of boxes or folders / items if in hard copy

We are not currently accepting donations of The Chronicle (UMD's yearbook), with the exception on the following years: 1937, 1941, 1944, 1963. We already have multiple copies for all other years.

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)