Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Archival Sources on Anishinaabe, Ojibwe and Other Indigenous People at the UMD Archives

A guide to materials created by or about Anishinaabe, Ojibwe and other Indigenous people in the University of Minnesota Duluth Archives

Photographs

Robert Powless, UMD Indian Studies faculty and Ojibwe man, seated in a classroom with two students. Photographs of Anishinaabe, Ojibwe and other Indigenous people held at the UMD Archives include collections that are owned by the University of Minnesota Duluth and those that are on permanent loan from the St. Louis County Historical Society. Most of them were not created and/or donated by Indigenous people. Most of the photographs in the archives are not cataloged individually and are part of larger collections. For those that have individual descriptions, some descriptions of the photos reflect language and vernacular that is inaccurate and no longer commonly used in archival cataloging such as “Chippewa” instead of “Anishinaabe” or “Ojibwe”. Archives staff updated the descriptions for many of them. Some of the photographs donated did not include the names or the tribal affiliation of the people in the photographs. The Archives’ staff is continually learning and updating collection records, and welcomes suggestions and feedback about this process.

Not all of the photographs held by the UMD Archives are available online. Please also see the research guide Finding Photographs

 

Minnesota Reflections

University of Minnesota Duluth Photographic Lab Collection (UMedia)

UMedia, a digital repository based at the University of Minnesota in the Twin Cities, includes photographs of the University of Minnesota Duluth campus, people, and activities.The majority of photographs in this collection were taken by former UMD campus photographer Kenneth Moran, and date from the 1950s through the 1980s.

Hard Copy Photographs

The General Historical Photographs collection (S2386) Boxes 33 and 33A contain the files of photographs listed below.

People, Indians,

  • Beaver Bay
  • Burial Sites
  • Cass Lake
  • Ely
  • Fisher's Creek
  • Fond du Lac
  • Grand Marais
  • Grand portage
  • Hayward, Wisconsin
  • Identified individuals
  • Lac La Croix
  • Misc. I, II
  • Nett Lake
  • Peace Commission
  • Pelican Lake
  • Red Lake
  • Sioux
  • Tower
  • Wisconsin, Bayfield, Madeline Island

Some, but not all of these photos are available online in MN Reflections.

 

The University of Minnesota Duluth’s Land Acknowledgment

We collectively acknowledge that the University of Minnesota Duluth is located on the traditional, ancestral, and contemporary lands of Indigenous people. The University resides on land that was cared for and called home by the Ojibwe people, before them the Dakota and Northern Cheyenne people, and other Native peoples from time immemorial. Ceded by the Ojibwe in an 1854 treaty, this land holds great historical, spiritual, and personal significance for its original stewards, the Native nations and peoples of this region. We recognize and continually support and advocate for the sovereignty of the Native nations in this territory and beyond. By offering this land acknowledgment, we affirm tribal sovereignty and will work to hold the University of Minnesota Duluth accountable to American Indian peoples and nations. For more information click here.

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)