Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Archival Sources on Anishinaabe, Ojibwe and Other Indigenous People at the UMD Archives

A guide to materials created by or about Anishinaabe, Ojibwe and other Indigenous people in the University of Minnesota Duluth Archives

The Archives is open online, but not for appointments in person due to COVID-19.

Find out more about current Archives Services. 

Please contribute to the Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project.

About Our Collections

Sources on Anishinaabe, Ojibwe and other Indigenous people's history held at the UMD Archives include materials that are on permanent loan from the St. Louis County Historical Society and those that were donated to the University of Minnesota Duluth. These include photographs, oral histories, video, and text based materials. Most of these materials were not created and/or donated by Indigenous people. Some descriptions of the materials reflect language and vernacular that is inaccurate and no longer commonly used in archival cataloging such as “Indian” and “Chippewa” instead of Native American, Indigenous, Anishinaabe, or Ojibwe.  Some of the materials donated did not include the names or the tribal affiliation of the people they are about or the location where photographs were taken. When searching historical records and descriptions of photographs, it is helpful to use a variety of terms including "Ojibwe," “Indian” and “Chippewa” to ensure the greatest chance of finding records. Archives staff is continually learning and updating collection records, and welcome suggestions and feedback about this process. 

If you do not see what you are looking for or if you have any questions or suggestions, please contact the UMD Archives at libarchives@d.umn.edu or (218) 726-8526.

Archival Collections at the UMD Archives

The list below includes links to more information about these collections, but generally not the materials themselves because most are not available online. Please contact the UMD Archives at libarchives@d.umn.edu or (218) 726-8526 for information on getting access to these materials.

The University of Minnesota Duluth’s Land Acknowledgment

We collectively acknowledge that the University of Minnesota Duluth is located on the traditional, ancestral, and contemporary lands of Indigenous people. The University resides on land that was cared for and called home by the Ojibwe people, before them the Dakota and Northern Cheyenne people, and other Native peoples from time immemorial. Ceded by the Ojibwe in an 1854 treaty, this land holds great historical, spiritual, and personal significance for its original stewards, the Native nations and peoples of this region. We recognize and continually support and advocate for the sovereignty of the Native nations in this territory and beyond. By offering this land acknowledgment, we affirm tribal sovereignty and will work to hold the University of Minnesota Duluth accountable to American Indian peoples and nations. For more information click here.

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)