Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Finding Photographs

Using the Archives during COVID-19

The UMD Archives is currently closed, but we can answer questions by email and phone, and provide a limited number of scans of requested research materials. Please let us know if you are a current UMD student, staff, or faculty member who needs archival materials for a class or work related project as we will prioritize those requests. 

During June 2021, the UMD Archives will be unable to respond to most research requests because the staff will be focusing on a collections maintenance project. We are sorry for the inconvenience to researchers and look forward to working with you again soon. 

Questions? Contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or 218-726-8526.

Please contribute to the Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project.

Finding Photographs

The UMD Archives & Special Collections contains thousands of photographs related to local and regional history, as well as the history of UMD. Some of these photographs have been digitized and are available online, but many are only available as physical prints and negatives. 

Use this guide to:

  • Find links to digitized photograph collections
  • Learn about some of our large collections of local history photographs
  • Learn how to access photographs related to the history of UMD
  • Contact us with questions about finding photographs

Bird's Eye View of Duluth, Minnesota, circa 1925

Image: Bird's Eye View of Duluth, Minnesota, circa 1925. Full record: https://reflections.mndigital.org/catalog/nemhc:4084#

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)