Research Guides: Finding Photographs: Local History Photograph Collections

Local History Photograph Collections

Listed below are some of our large local history photograph collections. A small portion of these photographs have been digitized and are available online through Minnesota Digital Library (formerly Minnesota Reflections). Photograph collections include those owned by the University of Minnesota Duluth, and collections that are part of the Northeastern Minnesota Historical Collections (NEMHC) which are on permanent loan from the St. Louis County Historical Society.

Many of our smaller collections also contain photographs, but are not listed here. If you don't see what you are looking for, please contact us, or search our database:

ArchivesSpace Database
ArchivesSpace provides descriptions of archival collections held in the UMD Archives. Search results might also include information about collections at the UMN-Twin Cities archives. ArchivesSpace includes records for most, but not all of the collections at UMD.
General Historical Photographs collection
This collection consists of visual images arranged by subject, name, or format. The collection is divided into three series: Subjects, Portraits, and Oversize Images. Container lists are available for each of these series.
General Historical Photograph Album collection
The collection consists of photograph albums from various photographers and collectors. Content includes views of Duluth and northeastern Minnesota; the Duluth Boat Club; the Duluth harbor and ship canal; ships and shipping; mines and mining; Nopeming Sanatorium; and military service members.
Duluth Public Library photograph collection, 1869-1986
The Duluth Public Library has been the recipient over the years of photographs and other historical documents. To ensure security of these materials the Library made copy slides and transferred the originals to the Northeast Minnesota Historical Center. The collection consists of original and copy prints and negatives of Duluth, buildings, sites, views, parks, and development of the area.
Hugh McKenzie photograph collection, 1902-1947
The collection contains photographic prints and glass plates of Duluth and surrounding areas. The photographic prints are divided into twelve subject areas. They are: Businesses and Buildings, Churches, Cloquet Fire, Duluth Boat Club, Duluth Steam Corporation, Homes and Apartment Buildings, Mining Scenes, Miscellaneous, Nopeming Sanatorium, Outside of the City of Duluth, Schools, Duluth and Rural
General Postcard collection, circa 1900-
All postcards donated to the archives are added to this collection. The cards are arranged by the subjects used in the general historical photograph collection; the subjects are filed alphabetically. Subjects include: industry, geography, Lake Superior's North Shore, Apostle Islands, Duluth, and other NE Minnesota cities. The collection includes one album of post cards of the North Shore.
Congdon Family Papers (UMedia)
A selection of images from the Congdon Family Papers are available online through UMedia. Images may be downloaded directly from the website.

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)