It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project
A small selection of the items that have been contributed to the Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project are now available online through UMedia. We will continue to add items to this digital collection.
Stories of Wisdom from Bodies in Separation (SWaBS) is a portion of the collection made possible by a major grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities: Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act.
This collection consists of materials related to the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) pandemic as experienced in Northeastern Minnesota. Materials were created by individuals, businesses, and organizations. The earliest items in the collection date from March 2020.
This collection consists of 110 oral history interviews documenting life under the COVID-19 pandemic in Northeastern Minnesota. Interviews were conducted between July and December of 2020. A broad spectrum of interviewees are included. Interviews include a variety of ages of interviewees, ranging from a recently-graduated high school student to several elders; a spectrum of gender identities and sexual orientations; diverse economic classes and professions; people who have believed that COVID-19 was a political hoax and people who are recovering from the disease; interviews from members of Asian-heritage, African-heritage, and indigenous-heritage communities, as well as the majority white population that makes up more than 90% of the residents of the region; members of diverse religious communities; recent immigrants and lifelong residents of towns as small as Finland, MN (population 195) and as large as the major metropolitan area of our region, Duluth, MN. The collection includes artwork, photographs, music, and videos contributed by interviewees that support and provide context to their interviews, as well as creative projects conceptualized and created by the ten interviewers that participated in this project. This project made possible by a major grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities: Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act. Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this project, do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.