Research Guides: JOUR 2300 Visual Journalism: Digital & Scholarly Resources for this Course

Repositories, Archives, News Sources

General Resources from around the Web

Minnesota Digital Library - Northeast Minnesota Historical Collections
Digital materials from collections that cover northeastern Minnesota topics. Primarily images with some documents.

Duluth News Tribune, 1995-Current (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Duluth News Tribune is provide through our subscription to Access World News. Coverage from December 2018 moving forward is full-color reproduction of original documents.

UMedia Archives
Contains many historic images of Duluth and the UMD campus.

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub, 1849-2020 This link opens in a new window
Minnesota newspapers made freely available by the Minnesota Historical Society.

DPLA (Digital Public Library of America)
A portal to digitized materials from America’s libraries, archives, and museums.

"The portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, format, subject, and partner."
Minnesota Digitized Atlases and Plat Books - Minnesota Historical Society
Minnesota History Magazine - A-Z Index
Minnesota DNR Maps
Aerial Survey maps dating back to the 1930's for all of Minnesota
Zenith City Press Archives
Local Historical Press Zenith City maintains a very comprehensive archive of items on the history of Duluth and St. Louis County. There is an exceptional amount of content and links regarding Canal Park. http://zenithcity.com/archive/parks-landmarks/

Sanborn Digital Maps of Minnesota, 1867-1970 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Fire insurance maps of Minnesota towns and cities from the Sanborn Map Company, which was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape.
University Digital Conservancy (UDC) This link opens in a new window
This online service and space will permit the Kathryn A. Martin Library to continue its rich legacy of collecting, preserving, and making information accessible to students, faculty, researchers, and community members.

Historic Duluth Post Cards
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.

UMD Archives and Special Collections Research Guides

Using Our Collections
by UMD Archives Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 410 views this year
Finding Photographs
by UMD Archives Last Updated Jan 2, 2024 211 views this year

Duluth newspapers on microfilm at the Kathryn A. Martin Library

Canal Park Landmarks, Search Terms, Etc.

About Canal Park

Today's Canal Park is tourism and social destination for visitors and Duluth residents alike. Surrounded by a working harbor, residential neighborhood, busy downtown, interstate, and Lake Superior, this small spit of land has changed in function and meaning.

Useful Keywords:

Marshall Wells Hardware, Duluth Spring Company, Aerial Lift Bridge, Poseidon Statue, St. Lawrence Seaway, Aerial Transfer Bridge, Duluth Rowing Club, Geno Paulucci, Grandma Rosa, Finn Town, Uncle Harvey's Mausoleum, Ben Boo, Duluth Pack, Zenith City of the Unsalted Sea, Proctor Knott, Richard Bong, Chun King Foods, DECC, Mataafa, William A. Irvin, Pizza Rolls, Dewitt Seitz.

Aerial view of Canal Park, 1950's. https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/maps/landview/index.html Retrieved on 10/1/2018

Kathryn A. Martin Library

JOUR 2300 Visual Journalism

Repositories, Archives, News Sources

General Resources from around the Web

UMD Archives and Special Collections Research Guides

Canal Park Landmarks, Search Terms, Etc.

About Canal Park