Research Guides: Journalism Research Guide: Find Statistics

Statistics and Demographic Data

data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
data.census.gov is now the primary platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau, including the American Community Survey, the American Housing Survey, The Decennial Censuses (10 year surveys), Economic Census and Census Bureau surveys.

See the following links for statistical information.

Business Analyst Online (BAO) This link opens in a new window
Utilize GIS technology to analyze demographic, consumer spending, and business data. Analyze current-year estimates and five-year projections of demographic data and extensive consumer spending and business data for the entire United States.
Access Note: To register for your account, see the Instructions for signing in to ArcGIS Online on Google Drive.
Restrictions on Use: BAO may be used for teaching and student learning purposes only. No research or administrative users are permitted. By entering this database you agree to these terms.

Census Quickfacts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

Minnesota State Demographic Center This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on Minnesota, population, land use, crime, education, health, substance abuse, and retail sales
USA.Gov Statistics This link opens in a new window
A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official federal statistics. Information covers demographics, business, taxation, environment, politics, crime, employment, military, climate, health, and education.
US Census Bureau | Census of Population and Housing This link opens in a new window
The census tells us who we are and where we are going as a nation. The census helps our communities determine where to build everything from schools to supermarkets, and from homes to hospitals. It helps the government decide how to distribute funds and assistance to states and localities. It is also used to draw the lines of legislative districts and reapportion the seats each State holds in Congress..

Pioneer Press Datamine
Database of information on public employee salaries, crime statistics, and public school related data.
World Development Indicators
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, marshals facts on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world. It provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 250+ world entities.