This collection is intended to accommodate miscellaneous, primary documents related to the October 12, 13, 1918 Cloquet-Moose Lake forest fire and its aftermath when provenance or donor information about the material is unclear or not known. It currently holds publications, reports and items from state court records, produced by state agencies, and professional photographers.
Some of these materials have been digitized. Please see "Available Online," above.

The collection consists of a letter written by Frank C. Murphy on October 15, 1918 that contains his personal account of the great Moose Lake-Cloquet, Minnesota fire of 1918. The letter was addressed to his mother, in Clinton, Iowa. The collection also contains a typed transcript of the letter. In 1918, Frank Murphy resided in Duluth.

This collection includes three volumes of judgments related to the 1918 Forest Fire, with accompanying indexes.

The collection consists of a scrapbook and a 1909 certificate from the Governor of Minnesota appointing Weaver to the rank of First Lieutenant in the Minnesota National Guard. The scrapbook containes a copy of Major Weaver’s report to the Adjutant General, a reprint from the Geographical Review entitled, “The Northeastern Minnesota Forest Fires of October 12, 1918,” and news clippings concerning the forest fire.
Most of this collection has been digitized. Please see "Available Online," above.

This group of documents relate to forest fire claims and were filed with St. Louis County District Court as files #41188, #41191, # 41196. They are incomplete groups of records and their relationship is unclear.

Reminiscence related to two families victimized by the Moose Lake-Cloquet Forest Fire of 1918 when it burned Hermantown, near Duluth. The families were Oscar and Rosa Fichtner and Anton and Emilie Klosowsky. These people were the writer's great grand parents; her mother's family.

The collection contains correspondence, reference materials, photographs, and Red Cross publications. Most of the material originated from the chapter's World War I activities, and reflects the relief programs in effect during that war. Also included are some records related to the Red Cross relief work after the Fires of 1918.