Research Guides: Research Data Management (RDM): Data Sharing & Reuse

Data Sharing and Reuse

Questions to consider:

How will the data be discovered and shared?
Any sharing requirements?
Audience for reuse?
When will I publish it and where?
Tools/software needed to work with data?

Open Access Data Repositories

Below is a partial list of Repositories for Research Articles, Journals and Data Sets.

A more comprehensive list of Open Access Repostitories is curated by the Boston College Library. This list is indebted to their site.

ARDA - Association of Religion Data Archives
The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA. There are nearly 875 data files included in the ARDA collection.
Data Dryad
DataDryad.org is a curated general-purpose repository that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable
Data Repository for University of Minnesota (DRUM)
DRUM is a publicly available collection of digital research data generated by U of M researchers, students, and staff. Anyone can search and download the data housed in the repository, instantly or by request.
The Data Repository accepts submissions from University affiliates for digital archiving and access
The Dataverse Project
"The Dataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore and analyze research data. It facilitates making data available to others, and allows you to replicate others work. Researchers, data authors, publishers, data distributors, and affiliated institutions all receive appropriate credit. A Dataverse repository hosts multiple dataverses. Each dataverse contains datatset or other dataverses, and each dataset contains descriptive metadata and data files (including documentation and code that accompany the data)."
re3data.org - Registry of Data Repositories
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.
UN Data
"The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system."

Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies (ROARMAP)

Need to know about an organizations policies and support for Open Access?

ROARMAP
The Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies (ROARMAP) is a searchable international registry charting the growth of open access mandates and policies adopted by universities, research institutions and research funders that require or request their researchers to provide open access to their peer-reviewed research article output by depositing it in an open access repository.

Archive and Share Your Data

Data can be archived and shared in many different ways. Some are more effective than others. Here is a partial list of options.

Post data online to a website or blog.
Publish data in a journal as "Supplement" to your research article.
Make your data "Available on Request" via email or dropbox.
Deposit in a subject repository (See list of Open Access Data Repositories below)
Deposit in an Institution Repository like University Digital Conservancy (UDC)

Each of these methods can be used to share data, but for long term preservation and ease of access we recommend that you find a Open Access Data Repository to hold your data. Below are resources for finding an appropriate repository for your data.

Measuring Impact of Your Data

Going to publish your finding and data online? Use the following below links to determine a publications reach, your scholarly body of work, and other metrics that influence academic publishing.

Resources to track publication in traditional journals - More information about scholarly communication can be found in our Faculty Publishing LibGuide

PLOS Altmetrics Collection
Eigenfactor.org
"Eigenfactor.org® is an academic research project co-founded by Jevin West and Carl Bergstrom and sponsored by the Bergstrom Lab in the Department of Biology at the University of Washington. We aim to use recent advances in network analysis and information theory to develop novel methods for evaluating the influence of scholarly periodicals and for mapping the structure of academic research."
Altmetrics
Altmetric's mission is to track and analyse the online activity around scholarly literature. They believe that
- Authors should be able to see the attention that their articles are receiving in real-time.
- Publishers, librarians and repository managers should be able to show authors and readers the conversations surrounding their content.
- Editors should be able to quickly identify commentary where a response is required.
- Researchers should be able to see which recent papers their peers think are interesting.

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive periodical directory information for over 186,000 magazines, newspapers, and journals, international in scope, and in all formats.
InCites | Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Journal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the worlds leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

You can search all databases available on the Web of Science platform at one time. This includes, Web of Science Core Collection, Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS Previews, KCI-Korean Journal Database, Russian Science Citation Index, and SciELO Citation Index.

Google Scholar Journal Metrics
Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Research Data Management (RDM)

Data Sharing and Reuse

Open Access Data Repositories

Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies (ROARMAP)

Archive and Share Your Data

Measuring Impact of Your Data