Research Guides: Researching the History of a House or Building in Duluth: Resources at the UMD Archives

Historic House Photographs

House Photograph Index
Many of our collections contain historic photographs of Duluth houses. The House Photograph Index is a listing of photographs from several larger collections that include photographs of houses. Entries in the index are arranged in alphabetical order by street name. Some entries include the name of a previous owner.

Collections included in the House Photograph Index:

General Historical Photographs collection (S2386)
This collection consists of visual images arranged by subject, name, or format. The photographs indexed in the House Photograph Index are mostly from a portion of the collection that appears to originate with Duluth real estate agent Kenneth S. Cant, and were probably used to sell houses. They are almost exclusively houses in Duluth (mostly east of Lake Ave.), but also include some rural areas to the north and other identified cities outside of Duluth. There are also a few commercial buildings. Most photos appear to be from the 1960s, although some may be as old as the 1920s. The information with each photo varies from no information to descriptions of the houses, including the number and types of rooms, the type of heat, and monthly tax and mortgage payments. Photos often show other buildings next door.
Lyman E. Nylander photograph collection, 1950-1972 (S2420)
This collection consists of 5x7" and 8x10" black and white silver gelatin prints exposed and printed by Mr. Nylander. There are no original negatives. The images are primarily of Duluth street scenes, buildings, churches on the Iron Range, as well as military monuments and markers in Duluth and out East. Only photographs of houses are indexed in the House Photograph Index.
Duluth Historic Resources Survey records, 1983-1984 (S3774)
The collection consists of the field data gathered to constitute a survey and organized into the Final Report. This data consists of detailed information on and photographs of buildings, sites and other cultural resources in the Duluth community. Only photographs of houses are indexed in the House Photograph Index.
Duluth Public Library photograph collection, 1869-1986 (S3766)
The collection consists of original and copy prints and negatives of Duluth, buildings, sites, views, parks, and development of the area. Only photographs of houses are indexed in the House Photograph Index.
Hugh McKenzie photograph collection, 1902-1947 (S2422)
The collection contains photographic prints and glass plates of Duluth and surrounding areas, covering a variety of subject matter. Only photographs of houses are indexed in the House Photograph Index.

Some smaller collections may also contain photographs of houses. Please ask the archivist for more information.

City Directories

Duluth City Directories include alphabetical listings of Duluth residents and businesses by name. Beginning in 1930, directories include a listing by address. Track the residents of a house by starting with more current dates and moving backward.

The UMD Archives holds City Directories for Duluth and some surrounding towns. Duluth City Directories date from 1882 - 2002, with some volumes missing. City Directories are also available at the Duluth Public Library.

Other resources for City Directories:

Minnesota Historical Society Guide to Directories
An in-depth overview of types of directories found in local history collections, and how to use them.
Minnesota Historical Society City Directory Search Request
For researchers who are not able to visit the Archives, the Minnesota Historical Society will look up information in all City Directories in Minnesota. There is a fee for this service.
Duluth Public Library: Research Duluth Houses
Duluth City Directories are also available at the Duluth Public Library.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Originally created for fire insurance companies to assess liability, Sanborn Fire Insurance maps show a footprint of buildings to scale. They may also indicate the type of material used to construct a building, and in some cases may include other information.

Library Of Congress Sanborn Maps Collection
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division. The online checklist is based upon the Library's 1981 publication Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress and will be continually updated to reflect new acquisitions.
Sanborn Digital Maps on Minnesota
May be accessed with a UMD student or staff username and password, or from a public access computer at the KAM Library.

Subject and Biographical Files

Subject Files include files on some important buildings in Duluth. Biographical Files contain information on notable Duluth residents. These files contain printed material, primarily newspaper clippings. The amount of material and the date range varies considerably by topic.

Northeastern Minnesota Subject Files
There is generally one file folder of newspaper articles about each subject on this list. These are available for use at the UMD Archives
Northeastern Minnesota Biographical Files
There is generally one file folder of newspaper articles about each person on this list. These are available for use at the UMD Archives.

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)