Research Guides: ECH 2015: Early Childhood Literature Research Guide: Find articles, reviews, and book lists

Articles and Reviews

The Reading Teacher
Provides the latest peer-reviewed, research-based best practices to literacy educators working with children up to age 12. The articles cover topics from curriculum, instruction, and assessment to strategies for teaching diverse populations of literacy learners.
The Horn Book Magazine
Reviews books very selectively, approximately eighty titles an issue, and generally considers titles notable for high standards in plot, theme, characterization, and style. Board books and original paperbacks are occasionally reviewed.
Children's Literature in Education
Features analysis of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional material; visual narratives from picture books and comics to graphic novels; interviews with writers and artists; textual analysis and interpretation from differing theoretical perspectives; historical approaches to the area; reader-response work with children; ideas for teaching children's literature; adaptation, translation and publishing.
School Library Journal
Produces features and news coverage on: literacy, best practices, technology, education policy and other issues of interest to the school library and greater educator community. It evaluate a broad range of resources, from books and digital content to databases, in 6000+ reviews published annually.
Language Arts
Is the premiere journal for the teaching of language arts, focusing primarily on issues concerning children of preschool through middle school age.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete covers topics that include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.

Something About the Author (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Online access to all volumes ever printed in the Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
This platform cross-searches the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism, and Something About the Author. Examine the lives and careers of authors as well as literature commentary of their works.
Resource Guide PDF Video Tutorials