Research Guides: JOUR 2501 Research Guide: History of American Media: Find Secondary Sources

Articles & Books Search

Find Books & Articles

Books, book chapters, and articles are secondary sources that provide information and interpretations on or about primary sources, events, and phenomena.

Books & Book Chapters

Kathryn A. Martin Library: All Campus Catalog This link opens in a new window
If UMD doesn't have the book you need, use Get It to request items from other U of M campus libraries.

Articles & Books
Under the Material Type limiter, use Book Chapters to narrow your results to relevant book chapters. To expand the number of book chapters available, toggle on the 'Include articles available through interlibrary loan' under Filter my results to include items you can request.

Articles

Articles & Books
Under the Material Type limiter, you can narrow it down to all articles including peer-reviewed articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles. To narrow down to peer-reviewed articles, use the 'Peer-Reviewed' limiter under Availability. To broaden your results, toggle on the 'Include articles available through interlibrary loan' under Filter my results to include items you can request.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comm & Mass Media Complete is a subject-specific database that searches a collection of journals related to the study of Communication and Journalism. Some of the articles you find may not have the full text in this database. Use the Find It@UMD link to get articles through another UMD database or to request through interlibrary loan.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database meaning it has a little bit of everything from a variety of sources. Some of the articles you find may not have the full text in this database. Use the Find It@UMD link to get articles through another UMD database or to request through interlibrary loan.

Journalism Database List
We have 29 databases that have something to do with Journalism. Browse the list and do some searching in a database that looks interesting.

Refresher: What are Scholarly Sources?

Terms to Know

Scholarly sources: publications intended for an academic audience
Peer-review: a formal process in which works are evaluated by fellow experts in a field prior to publication

Scholarly sources typically share the following characteristics:

Purpose: To advance knowledge in a field of study, often in the form of original research or analysis

Format: Journal articles, books, book chapters; usually 5 pages or longer

Authors: Experts in the field, such as professors, scientists, etc.

Language: Text-heavy, with advanced language and terminology from the discipline

Sources: Includes citations and a bibliography, works cited, or references list

Kathryn A. Martin Library

JOUR 2501 Research Guide: History of American Media