Skip to Main Content
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Ramseyer-Northern Bible Society Collection

This is the story, background, and presentation detailing the Ramseyer-Northern Bible Society Collection

Bibliography for the 20th Century English Versions

This is a selected bibliography from the collection, you can search for more in the Kathryn A. Martin Library Catalog collection.

 

Bible Name and Information Location

AMERICAN REVISED VERSION

The Holy Bible ... Newly Edited by the American Revision Committee, A. D. 1901.
New York, Thomas Nelson & Sons, 1901.
814, vi, 252, vi, 122, 234, 8p. illus. maps. 18cm.
Contains also The Concise Bible Dictionary, A New Concordance of the
American Revised Bible and Index to Nelson's Bible Atlas. Spine title:
Teachers' Edition.
NUC 53:NBi 0007504 & Hills 2130, but Teachers' Edition, not Standard Edition.

Other editions of the ARV are available.

 491

AMPLIFIED BIBLE

The Amplified New Testament.
Grand Rapids, MI, Zondervan Publishing House, 1958.
989, [6]p. 17cm.
Herbert 2324.		 459

ARACKAL

The Psalms in Inclusive Language, Joseph J. Arackal, V. C. translator..
Collegeville, Minnesota, The Liturgical Press, 1993.
215p. 21cm.		 1600

BARCLAY

The New Testament. A New Translation ... by William Barclay. Volume One: The
Gospels and the Acts of the Apostles; Volume Two: The Letters and the Revelation.
London, New York, Collins, 1968-69.
Vol. 1: 352p; Vol. 2: 350p. 23cm.		 1474A/B

BASIC ENGLISH

The Bible in Basic English.
Cambridge, at the University Press, in Association with Evans Brothers, Ltd., 1949.
910p. 20cm.

Other versions of the Basic English bible are available. 

 1495

BECK

The New Testament in the language of today, By William F. Beck.
Saint Louis, Missouri, Concordia Publishing House, 1963.
xi, 459p. 23cm.		 1431

BERKELEY

The Holy Bible. The Berkeley Version in modern English ... Gerrit Verkuyl, Editor-in-
Chief.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, Zondervan Publishing House, 1959.
viii, 944, 289p. 22cm.
NT has separate tp with copyright 1945.

Other versions of the Berkeley Edition are available.

 1499

BETHEL

The Sacred Scriptures. Bethel Edition. [At head of title: ]
Bethel PA, Assemblies of Jahweh, 1981.
vii, 977, 4p. 24cm.
Final four pages comprise "A Pure Religious Vocabulary".		 1455

CLEMENTSON

The New Testament. A Translation. Rev. Edgar Lewis Clementson.
Pittsburgh, The Evangelization Society of the Pittsburgh Bible Institute, 1938.
628p. 18cm.
NUC 55:NBi 0044816. Hills 2368. Herbert 2270.		 431

CONCORDANT VERSION

Concordant Literal New Testament. The Memorial Edition.
Saugus, CA, Concordant Publishing Concern, 1966.
639p. 19cm. Abbreviation key tipped in inside back cover		 1087

CONDON

The Alba House New Testament. the Accounts of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John.
Prepared by Kevin Condon.
Staten Island NY., Society of Saint Paul, 1970.
384p. illus. 18cm.		 1494

CONFRATERNITY

The New Testament of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Translated from the Latin
Vulgate. A Revision of the Challoner-Rheims Version Edited by Catholic Scholars Under the Patronage of the Episcopal Committee of the Confraternity of Christian Doctrine.
Paterson, NJ, St. Anthony Guild Press, 1941.
vii, 762p. maps. 19cm.
NUC 55:NBi 0049836. Hills 2397. Herbert 2278.

Other versions of the Confraternity Bible are available.

 399

CONTEMPORARY ENGLISH VERSION

Bible for today's family. Contemporary English Version. New Testament.
New York, American Bible Society, 1991.
[10], 426p. maps. 23cm.

Other versions of the Contemporary English Version Bible are available.

 1477

CORNISH

Saint Paul from the trenches. A rendering of the Epistles to the Corinthians and Ephesians done in France during the Great War. By Gerald Warre Cornish.
Boston, Houghton Mifflin Company, 1938.
[xi], 84p. 19cm.		 1493

COTTON PATCH VERSION

The Cotton Patch Version of Luke and Acts. Jesus' Doings and the Happenings [by]
Clarence Jordan.
[Piscataway, NJ], New Century Publishers, 1969.
159p. 21cm.

Other versions of the Cotton Patch Version Bible are available.

 483B

EINSPRUCH

the good news according to Matthew. Translated by Henry Einspruch.
Baltimore, MD., The Lewis and Harriet Lederer Foundation, 1964.
vi, 83, [2]p. illus. 20cm.		 1481

FENTON

The Holy Bible in Modern English containing the complete Sacred Scriptures of the Old
and New Testaments translated into English direct from the original Hebrew,
Chaldee and Greek by Ferrar Fenton.
Merrimac, MA, Destiny Publishers, 1966, c1903.
xvii, 1271p. 24cm. In five parts, each part with separate tp.
Cf. NUC 53:NBi 0007587 & Herbert 2128.		 1457

FOX

The Five Books of Moses ... A new translation with introductions, commentary, and notes by Everett Fox. (The Schocken Bible,: volume 1)
New York, Schocken Books, 1995.
xxxi, 1024p. 25cm.		 1597

GAUS

The Unvarnished New Testament. Translated by Andy Gaus with an Introduction by
George Witterschein.
Grand Rapids, MI, Phanes Press, 1991.
508p. 21cm.		 1553

GODBEY

Translation of the New Testament from the Original Greek. By Rev. W. B. Godbey, A. M.
Cincinnati, Ohio, Office of God's Revivalist, nd [1902?].
373p. 20cm.
NUC 55:NBi 0044445. Hills 2142.		 1447

GOD'S WORD

God's Word. Today's Bible translation that says what it means.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, World Publishing, 1995.
xvi, 1577p. 24cm.
... appears to be associated with the previously published Old Testament portions
called "New Evangelical Translation (1992) ..." successor to Dr. [William F.] Beck's achievement." (Bible Collectors' World note).		 1584

GOOD NEWS BIBLE


See: Today's English Version.		  

GOODSPEED

The New Testament. An American Translation by Edgar J. Goodspeed.
Chicago, University of Chicago Press, 1923.
ix, 481p. 17cm.
Two copies. 1575A is autographed and has photograph of Goodspeed pasted on to title page.

Other versions of the Goodspeed Bible are available. 

 1575A/B

INCLUSIVE VERSION

The New Testament and Psalms. An Inclusive Version.
New York Oxford, Oxford University Press, 1995.
xxii, 535p. 24cm.		 1592

INCLUSIVE LANGUAGE VERSION

An Inclusive Language Lectionary. Readings for the Year A (377A); Readings for the Year B (377B). Readings for the Year C (377C).
Published for the Cooperative Publication Association by John Knox Press,
Atlanta, The Pilgrim Press, New York, The Westminster Press, Philadelphia.
1983-
Various pagings. 22cm..

Other Inclusive Language Versions Bibles are available. 

 377A/C

JERUSALEM BIBLE

The Jerusalem Bible. Reader's Edition.
Garden City, NY, Doubleday & Company, 1968.
xi, 1340, 358p. maps. 23cm.		 347

KJV II

King James II. New Testament.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, Associated Authors and Publishers, 1970.
238p. 21cm.		 1492

KLEIST-LILLY

The New Testament Rendered From the Original Greek With Explanatory Notes. Part
One: The Four Gospels translated by James A. Kleist. Part Two: Acts of the
Apostles, Epistles and Apocalypse translated by Joseph L. Lilly.
Milwaukee, The Bruce Publishing company, 1954.
xii, 690p. map. 23cm.
NUC 55:NBi 0044974. Herbert 2312. Hills 2543.		 1470

KNOX

The New Testament of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ newly translated from the Vulgate Latin at the request of their Lordships the Archbishops and Bishops of
England and Wales.
London, Burnes Oates and Washbourne, 1944.
viii, 600p. 17cm.
"Printed for Private Circulation Only"
NUC 55:NBi 0044860. Herbert 2284.

Other versions of the Knox Bible are available.

 458

KORSAK

At the Start: Genesis Made New. A Translation of the Hebrew Text by Mary Phil Korsak. Foreword by David Moody.
New York, Doubleday, 1992.
xiii, 237p. 22cm.		 1567

LAST DAYS BIBLE

Matthew from The Last Days Bible.
Seattle, WA, Life Messengers, 1994.
75p. 23cm.
Cover title: The Last Days Bible. The Great News as reported by Matthew.
Prophecy Edition.		 1593A/B

LATTIMORE

The Four Gospels and the Revelation. Newly translated from the Greek by Richmond
Lattimore.
London, Hutchinson, 1980.
301p. 22cm.		 485

LEDYARD

The New Life Testament. Translated by Glenson H. Ledyard.
Canby, Oregon, Christian Literature International, 1976.
[1], 534, [18]p. 25cm.		 1588

LIVING BIBLE

The Living Bible Paraphrased.
Wheaton, Illinois, Tyndale House Publishers; London, Coverdale House Publishers Ltd., 1972 [c1971].
[10], 1020p. illus. 22cm.

Other versions of the Living Bible are available.

 1557

McCARY

Black Bible Chronicles. Book One: From Genesis to the Promised Land. P. K. McCary
Interpreter.
New York, African American Family Press, 1993.
x, 192p. 23cm.		 1571
Rappin' with Jesus. The Good News According to the Four Brothers (Black Bible
Chronicles Series: The Gospels. P. K. McCary, Interpreter)
New York, African American Family Press, 1994.
xiii, 168p. 23cm.		 1577

McCORD

New Testament. McCord's New Testament Translation of the Everlasting Gospel. Hugo
McCord, TH.D.
[Henderson, TN, Freed-Hardeman College], 1988.
[6], 524p. 22cm.
Appendix (pp. 503-524 gives commentary on problems of translation).		 1398

MOFFATT

The New Testament. a new translation by James Moffatt, together with the Authorized
Version.
New York and London, Harper & Brothers, 1922.
xliii, 633p. 19cm.
Spine title: Parallel edition.
NUC 55:NBi 0044671. Hills 2257, but Harper, not Doran. Herbert 2213, but
Harper, not Hodder & Stoughton.

Other versions of the Moffat Bible are available.

 349

MONTGOMERY

The New Testament in Modern English. Translated by Helen Barrett Montgomery. [At
head of title: Centenary Translation]
Philadelphia, The Judson Press, 1944, c1924.
[6], 724p. 16cm.
Herbert 2219.		 1456

MOULTON

The Modern Reader's Bible. The Books of the Bible with Three Books of the Apocrypha.
Presented in Modern Literary Form. Edited, with Introduction and Notes by
Richard G. Moulton.
New York, The Macmillan Company, 1942, c1935.
xiv, 1733p. 22cm.
NUC 53:NBi 0007669.		 1471

NASH


A literal and consistent New Testament version [trans. By Donald A. Nash].
[Grayson, Kentucky, Kentucky Christian College, 1998]
xii, 417p. 23cm.		 1619

NEW AMERICAN BIBLE


See Confraternity Version.		  

NEW ENGLISH BIBLE

The New English Bible. New Testament.
Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, 1961.
447p. 20cm.
Herbert 2330.

Other versions of the New English Bible are available.

 486

NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION

The Holy Bible. New International Version.
Grand Rapids, MI, Zondervan Bible Publishers, 1973.
573p. 22cm.

Other versions of the NIV Bible are available.

 396

NEW JERUSALEM BIBLE

The New Jerusalem Bible.
New York, etc., Doubleday, 1985.
xv, 2100, [12]p. maps. 24cm.		 1554

NEW KING JAMES VERSION

Holy Bible. The New King James Version containing the Old and New Testaments.
Carmel, NY, Guideposts, [1982].
[x], 1236p. 22cm. Words of Jesus are in red.

Other versions of the New King James Version Bible are available.

 1420

NEW LIVING BIBLE

Holy Bible. New Living Translation.
Wheaton, IL, Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., 1996.
[ie; 50], 1289p. col. maps. 24cm.		 1605

NEW REVISED STANDARD VERSION

The Holy Bible containing the Old and New Testaments. New Revised Standard Version.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, Zondervan Bible Publishers, 1989.
[8], 1009, [3]p. 22cm.

Other versions of the New Revised Standard Edition Bible are available.

 1432

NEW WORLD TRANSLATION

New World Translation of the Hebrew Scriptures Rendered from the Original Languages
by the New World Bible Translation Committee A. D. 1953.
Brooklyn, NY, Watch Tower Bible & Tract Society, 1953.
5 vols. 19cm.
NUC 54:NBi 0015785. Hills 2527.

Other versions of the New World Translation Bible are available.

 463A/B

PAUL, WILLIAM E.

The New Testament: An Understandable Version By William E. Paul.
Seattle, Washington, Impact Publications, 1995.
588p. 22cm.		 1587

PETERSON

The Message. The New Testament in Contemporary English. Eugene H. Peterson.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, Navpress, 1993.
544p. 24cm.

Other versions of the Peterson Bible are available.

 1565

PHILLIPS

The New Testament in Modern English [by] J. B. Phillips.
New York, The Macmillan Company, 1960.
xvii, 558p. 19cm. Includes Notes and Index.		 1436

PRESSER

The Composite Gospel. Copyright ... by Llewellyn L. Presser.
Flat River, Mo., Llewellyn L. Presser, 1965.
xviii, 302p. 23cm.		 1479

PRIESTS FOR EQUALITY

The Inclusive New Testament.
Brentwood, Maryland, Priests for Equality, 1994.
xxiv, 468p. 23cm.		 1601
the inclusive psalms.
Brentwood, Maryland, Priests for Equality, 1997.
204p. 23cm.		 1615

REVISED ENGLISH BIBLE

The Revised English Bible with the Apocrypha.
[Oxford], Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, 1989.
xvii, 828, iv, 205, iv, 236p. 22cm.		 1483

REVISED STANDARD VERSION

The New Covenant commonly called the New Testament of Our Lord and Savior Jesus
Christ. Revised Standard Version.
New York, Thomas Nelson & Sons, 1946.
vi, 553p. 19cm.
NUC 55::NBi 0044880. Hills 2453. Herbert 2287.

Other versions of the Revised Standard Version Bible are available.

 350C, 480

RIEU

The Four Gospels. A new translation from the Greek by E. V. Rieu.
London, Penguin Books, 1952.
[xxxiii], 245p. 18cm.		 1496

ROTHERHAM

The New Testament of Our Master and Saviour Yahvahshua the Messiah (commonly
called Jesus Christ). Restoration of the Original Name New Testament ... Basis
of the Rotherham Version, Revised by Missionary Dispensary Bible Research.
Junction City, OR, Missionary Dispensary Bible Research, 1968.
323p. 22cm. Spine title: Restoration of Original Name New Testament.		 462

RUTHERFORD

Five Pauline Epistles. A new translation. William Gunion Rutherford.
Malvern, Worcs., Golden Age Limited Editions, 1984.
xix, 72, xviii, 92p. 22cm.
A limited reprint (this copy is #117 of 300) of the Macmillan publications of
1900 and 1908.		 1497

SCHOLARS VERSION

The Five Gospels. The Search for the Authentic Words of Jesus. New Translation and
Commentary by Robert W. Funk, Roy, W. Hoover and The Jesus Seminar.
New York, Macmillan, 1993.
xxii, 553p. illus. 24cm.		 1570

SCHONFIELD

The Original New Testament Edited and Translated from the Greek by the Jewish
Historian of Christian Beginnings Hugh J. Schonfield.
San Francisco, Harper & Row, 1985.
594p. 24cm.		 444

SPENCER

The New Testament of Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. Translated into English from
the Original Greek by the Very Rev. Francis Aloysius Spencer. Edited by Charles
J. Callan and John A McHugh.
New York, The Macmillan Company, 1946, c1937.
xiv, 717p. maps. 20cm.
NUC 55:NBi 0044808.		 1445

STRINGFELLOW

Acts and Epistles. A translation and annotations. By Ervin Edward Stringfellow.
[Np], 1945.
x, 301p. map. 29cm.
NUC 56:NBi 0058543.		 1498

SWANN

New Testament of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. Translated from the Greek by
Rev. George Swann. Third Edition.
Louisville, Kentucky, New Testament Publishers, 1947.
vii, 262, Vp. 23cm.
NUC 55:NBi 0044893. Herbert 2291..		 1449

TAYLOR

Living Letters. The Paraphrased Epistles by Kenneth N. Taylor.
Wheaton, IL, Tyndale House, 1962.
334p. 17cm.		 328

THIRD MILLENNIUM BIBLE

Third Millennium Bible. New Authorized Version of the Holy Bible.
Gary, South Dakota. Third Millennium Publications. A division of Deuel Enterprises, Inc., 1998.
xviii, 1370, 319, 412p. 23cm		 1646

TODAY'S ENGLISH VERSION

Good News for Modern Man. the New Testament in Today's English Version.
New York. American Bible Society, 1966.
iv, 599p. illus. 18cm.

Other versions of the Today's English Version Bible are available.

 346

TORREY

The Four Gospels. A New Translation. By Charles Cutler Torrey.
New York and London, Harper & Brothers, 1933.
xi, 234p. 20cm.		 1448

21st CENTURY KING JAMES VERSION

Holy Bible 21st Century King James Version. Volume One. New Testament, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes.
Gary. South Dakota, 21st Century King James Bible Publishers, 1991.
xiii, 474p. 22cm		 1650

WESTMINSTER VERSION

The New Testament in the Westminster Version of the Sacred Scriptures. By the Rev.
Cuthbert Lattey, S. J.
New York, Longmans, Green and Co., 1948.
[6], 479p. 19cm.
NUC 55:NBi 0044908.

 1446

WEYMOUTH

The New Testament in Modern Speech. An Idiomatic Translation into Every Day English from the Text of the Resultant Greek Testament by the late Richard Francis Weymouth. Newly Revised by James Alexander Robertson. Fifth Edition.
Boston, The Pilgrim Press, London, James Clarke & Co., 1939, c1929.
xxii, 712p. 19cm.
Cf. NUC 55:NBi 0044749. Cf. Hills 2418, but earlier edition.		 348

WILLIAMS, C. B.

The New Testament: A Translation in the Language of the People, by Charles B. Williams.
Chicago, Moody Press, 1950, c1937.
575p. 20cm.		 1435

WILLIAMS, C. K.

The New Testament. A New Translation in Plain English, by Charles Kingsley Williams.
London, S. P. C. K. and Longmans, Green and Co., 1952.
8, 545, 9-27p. 19cm.
NUC 55:NBi 0044950. Herbert 2306.		 1466A/B

WILSON

The Book of Books. A translation of the New Testament complete & unabridged. [By
R. Mercer Wilson].
R. T. S. London. The Lutterworth Press. the United Society for Christian
Literature, 1938.
xii, 640p. maps. 20cm.
NUC 55:NBi 0044822. Herbert 2269.		 1461

WORRELL

The Worrell New Testament. A. S. Worrell's Translation with Study Notes.
Springfield, MO, Gospel Publishing House, 1980, [c1904].
424p. 24cm.		 461

WUEST

The Gospels. Kenneth S. Wuest.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, W. B. Eerdmans Publishing Company, 1956.
320p. 22cm.

Other versions of the Wuest Bible are available.

 1451

PSALMS IN METRE

The Psalms of David in Metre: according to the Version approved by The Church of
Scotland, and appointed to be used in worship.
Edinburgh, National Bible Society of Scotland, nd [1895?].
Unpaged, A1-C16, D1-4. 15cm.
Cf. NUC 54:NBi 0029358.		 819

APOCRYPHAL WORKS

The Lost Books of the Bible being all the Gospels, Epistles and other pieces now extant
attributed in the first four centuries to Jesus Christ ... not included, by its compilers, in the Authorized New Testament ... With a New Foreword by Solomon J. Schepps.
New York, Bell Publishing Company, [1979].
293p. illus. 23cm.		 1590