Research Guides: Political Science Research Guide: Find Databases and Scholarly Articles

Getting Started

This guide serves as an introduction to the Political Science resources provided by the Kathryn A. Martin Library. However, this guide is by no means a complete list of resources. To see all the available digital resources in Political Science, visit the A-Z databases list:

Political Science Subject Page

If you have questions, contact your librarian!

Finding Government Information

The 2025 transition between presidential administrations has resulted in rapidly changing access to information through government websites and resources. The UMN Libraries has created a guide on accessing federal government information and how groups including information workers and researchers are working to rescue and archive information.

Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition
University of Minnesota Libraries
Government Information
University of Minnesota Duluth

Databases

These databases contain entries relevant to the study of political science. In addition, they contain articles or information related to broader topics in the social sciences.

iPOLL This link opens in a new window
iPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Includes poll data from 1935 to present.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer offers the ability to create customized maps and reports of demographic, housing, and employment patterns throughout the United States using data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
View Research Guide
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Political Science Research Guide

Political Science Librarian

Research Process Guides

Getting Started

Finding Government Information

Databases