Research Guides: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, and Queer Studies Research Guide: Find Articles

Selected Databases

This Guide points you to databases that are most likely to have resources on these general subjects. Not sure where to start? Not finding what you want? Book an appointment with Mags to talk through your topic and your research process.

Libraries Search
Search multiple databases at the same time.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Scholarly journals, popular magazines and other resources covering most disciplines. A great place to start your research on any topic.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Our subscribed content includes the Sustainability, Life Sciences, Arts & Sciences I-VII, XII, XV, and Ireland collections and more than 70,000 DRM-free ebooks from academic publishers.

JSTOR - LGBT Collection
The LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States.
LGBTQ Studies Databases
Complete list of databases recommended for this subject area.

Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
Expiration Note: Subscription has been cancelled effective January 1, 2026. For more information on cancellation decisions, see A Message from the Director about Library Collections Cuts.
SAGE Journals
Scholarly articles from SAGE journals in the social sciences and humanities, the life sciences, biomedical sciences, neuroscience, pharmacology, engineering, and material sciences.
TED Talks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.

All Databases - A-Z List

Suggested keywords

These lists represent some ideas to start your searches, they don't cover every concept you might need. Remember that the words people use to describe themselves vary over time and across cultures; mainstream culture uses different language than that used by LGBTQ+ insiders.

Suggested keywords for people

transgender, trans, gender, gender Identity, gender minorities, nonbinary gender, two-spirit, gender expression, transsexual, queer, gender variant, gender nonconforming
gay, lesbian, bisexual, same-sex, queer, sexual minorities, pansexual, two-spirit, sexual orientation, homosexuality, heterosexuality

Suggested keywords for issues

youth, violence, marriage, health, health care, civil rights, discrimination, poverty, family, families, parents, parenting, passing

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, and Queer Studies Research Guide

Social Sciences Librarian

Selected Databases

This Guide points you to databases that are most likely to have resources on these general subjects. Not sure where to start? Not finding what you want? Book an appointment with Mags to talk through your topic and your research process.

Suggested keywords