Research Guides: COMM 3620: Controversy in the Boundary Waters Research Guide: Find Articles

Controversy in the Boundary Waters

The Library has created a resource guide for Controversy in the Boundary Waters.

There are numerous starting points and nodes to begin your research. The Boundary Waters Region is relatively small space in the large world, but the controversies and conversations of within the community can be viewed on statewide, national and global stage. We are presenting a list of academic, local & governmental sources of information that can be great jumping off points for your research.

Libraries Search

Selected Subject Resources

ProQuest News & Newspapers
U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Star Tribune, 2008-Current (ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
The paper of record for the State of Minnesota with coverage of legislative and out state happenings. "The Strib" can offer a historic perspective on Ely, the Vermillion Range, Polymet, Mining, Logging and more...

Ely Echo
Local newspaper for the Ely Community, providing coverage of local news in the area and a lively letter to the editors section.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Our subscribed content includes the Sustainability, Life Sciences, Arts & Sciences I-VII, XII, XV, and Ireland collections and more than 70,000 DRM-free ebooks from academic publishers.
Web of Science
Access the worlds leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

You can search all databases available on the Web of Science platform at one time. This includes, Web of Science Core Collection, Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS Previews, KCI-Korean Journal Database, Russian Science Citation Index, and SciELO Citation Index.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Full text of selected journals and selected reference books published by Elsevier. Full text indexing available for all Elsevier journals from v. 1, issue 1.
Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff
Super useful tool for finding citations and articles

Google Scholar is accessible by the public.
Westlaw | News
Read newspapers, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and wires from the United States or around the world. Select the area in the world you want to focus on or browse by topic.
Westlaw | Law Reviews & Journals
Access to the Law Reviews & Journals Index within Westlaw on the national, federal, and international level. Titles via all 50 states and on several topics including Native American Law, Tax, Intellectual Property, and more.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

COMM 3620: Controversy in the Boundary Waters Research Guide

Your Research Librarian

Other Useful Resources

Controversy in the Boundary Waters

Libraries Search

Selected Subject Resources