An open source and crowd created encyclopedia, Wikipedia is a great starting point to learn about your topic. You can quickly develop a large list of keywords, names, events that can expand your knowledge of specific subject. This is not your final destination for research content, but a starting point to find quality resources.
Brainstorming Points of View provides the full scope of an issue, controversy or movement. Taking no side, it offers historic reference on the topic, current events, timelines, and references that can allow you to learn more. An excellent starting point for the beginning speech writer!
Brainstorming CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy (plus a lot more). Researchers can feel very confident about references, links and contact information for both sides of the issue.
Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless devices add the University of Minnesota Duluth to your Library Links in the Google Scholar settings.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Westlaw, a Thomson Reuters product, provides access to federal and state case law statutes regulations law reviews and journals American Law Reports, and the American Jurisprudence 2nd Ed. legal encyclopedia. This resource also provides access to more than 4,900 news and business information publications.