Find Background Information - WRIT 3100 - Advanced Writing: Language and Literature Research Guide - Research Guides at University of Minnesota Duluth

Background Sources

Finding background information and context for topics in languages and literature can require several different strategies. Books are always a great place to start. You can explore the library's book collections through the library catalog:

Library Catalog

The databases listed below provide are also great ways to explore context and background information for topics in language and literature.

Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Encyclopedia Britannica, a general information source for all age groups.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
This platform cross-searches the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism, and Something About the Author. Examine the lives and careers of authors as well as literature commentary of their works.
Resource Guide PDF Video Tutorials
New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Full-text and full-image of the New York Times dating back to 1851.
Wall Street Journal, 1984-Current (ProQuest Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from the WSJ (1984 - present). You may also browse by date of publication.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

WRIT 3100 - Advanced Writing: Language and Literature Research Guide

Background Sources