Research Guides: WRIT 3121: Advanced Writing: Business and Organizations: Local & State Resources

Local Resources

Zenith City Press
Historical information on Duluth and the Western Lake Superior region.
Duluth Neighborhood Map
City of Duluth
Duluth Area Chamber of Commerce

State Resources

Minnesota Historical Election Archive This link opens in a new window
Explore over 160 years of election results in Minnesota.

Minnesota Historical Society
Minnesota Legislative Reference Library
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (LRL) serves the Legislature and the citizens of Minnesota by assuring access to essential information resources that support the legislative process and promote the understanding of state government. You can find information on specific bills proposed and information on each legislator.
Minnesota Local Government
Find lists of associations, cities, counties, special districts, and townships in Minnesota.
Minnesota Mandated Reports
Some reports are mandated by the Minnesota State Legislature when laws are written. The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library catalogs these reports and provides a list of recently acquired reports.
Minnesota Secretary of State
This office affects Minnesotans in all 87 counties, whether that's ensuring the election system is fair, open, impartial, and secure; making it as easy as possible for Minnesotans to set up and run their businesses; or helping protect victims of domestic violence and others who fear for their safety.
Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Commissions
State Agencies are in the executive branch of government. Also included in this listing are state boards, councils, commissions, committees, ombudsmen offices and task forces.
Minnesota State Documents
MN Legislative Reference Library is Minnesota's depository library for state agency and consultants reports.
Minnesota State Government White Pages
Find state employee contact information.
Minnesota State Law Library
A principal legal resource center serving the judiciary and all branches of state and local government; the legal profession; other law, public and academic libraries; and the general public.
Minnesota State Legislature
Allows you to track current legislation, find bills from 1995 to date, and search the current "Minnesota Statutes", "Session Laws of Minnesota" and the current "Minnesota Rules".
Minnesota State Register
The official publication of the State of Minnesota’s Executive Branch of government, published weekly to fulfill the legislative mandate set forth in Minnesota Statutes. Contains agency regulations, governors' executive orders, proposed and final agency rules, Tax Court decisions, state contracts and more.
Soil Surveys for Minnesota
Provides soil maps and data produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS).
State and Local Government on the Net
Provides links to all 50 states, many counties, and a number of city governments. Also provides selective categories for multistate sites, federal resources, national organizations, and tribal governments.
State of Minnesota
Minnesota.gov is the entry point to Minnesota State government information and services including the Governor, state, local, region and tribal governments and links to government services.
University of Minnesota Extension: Community Research
Research on topics related to Minnesota communities, such as understanding local economics, retaining businesses, growing retail markets, getting to know consumers and developing tourism.

Insitutional Repositories & Archives

College of St. Scholastica Archives
Materials in the Archives include historical documents, student publications such as newspapers and yearbooks, college publications such as catalogs and the Times and St. Scholastica magazines, and departmental and committee documents. The archives also contains over 150,000 images including photographs, slides, and negatives and recordings both audio and visual.
University of Minnesota Digital Conservancy (UDC)
Contains materials related to the history of the University of Minnesota Duluth, including The Statesman (student newspaper) and The Chronicle (UMD yearbook).
University of Wisconsin-Superior Archives & Special Collections
Located in the Jim Dan Hill Library, the UW-S Archives collects materials related to the history of UW-S and other local and regional history. It also contains a large regional maritime collection.

Data and Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer offers the ability to create customized maps and reports of demographic, housing, and employment patterns throughout the United States using data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
View Research Guide
Data USA This link opens in a new window
Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge. It allows millions of people to conduct their own analyses and create their own stories about America – its people, places, industries, skill sets and educational institutions. Ultimately, accelerating society's ability to learn and better understand itself.
Minnesota Compass This link opens in a new window
Minnesota Compass is a social indicators project that measures progress in our state, its seven regions, 87 counties and larger cities. Compass tracks trends in topic areas such as education, economy and workforce, health, housing, public safety, and a host of others.
Minnesota State Demographic Center This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on Minnesota, population, land use, crime, education, health, substance abuse, and retail sales
Minnesota Public Health Data Access Portal This link opens in a new window
The Minnesota Department of Health is working to make important public health data available. Visit the Minnesota Public Health Data Access Portal for interactive charts, maps, and data specific to Minnesota that may be useful for research, grants, projects, and more.

QuickFacts: Minnesota - U.S. Census Bureau

Kathryn A. Martin Library

WRIT 3121: Advanced Writing: Business and Organizations

Local Resources

State Resources

Insitutional Repositories & Archives

Data and Statistics