Research Guides: HCM 4580: Health Services Research Methods: National Statistics

National Statistics

Start Here

American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) provides detailed population and housing information.
CDC Cancer Data
The United States Cancer Statistics (USCS) are the official federal cancer statistics. They come from combined cancer registry data collected by CDC’s National Program of Cancer Registries and the National Cancer Institute’s Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) program.
CDC COVID Data
CDC recommends use of COVID-19 Community Levels to determine the impact of COVID-19 on communities and to take action. CDC also provides Transmission Levels (also known as Community Transmission) to describe the amount of COVID-19 spread within each county. Healthcare facilities use Transmission Levels to determine infection control interventions.
CMS Medicare Hospital CAHPS
HCAHPS is the first national, standardized, publicly-reported survey of patients' perspectives of hospital care. The HCAHPS Survey (pronounced “H-caps”) is a 29-item instrument and data collection methodology for measuring patients’ perceptions of their hospital experience. HCAHPS allows valid comparisons to be made across hospitals -- locally, regionally and nationally.
CMS Medicare Inpatient Hospital Discharges
Information on hospital discharges from Original Medicare (fee-for-service) Part A (Hospital Insurance) beneficiaries by Inpatient Prospective Payment System (IPPS) hospitals; aggregated by provider and service.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The CHR&R program provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support leaders in growing community power to improve health equity.
Humana Synthetic Claims
Humana's synthetic data contains 1,500,000 member records. The sample datasets below are limited to 100 synthetically-derived individual records.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
MIT Election Data and Science Lab
Find election data and research tools.
USDA ERS
ERS's suite of data products encompasses estimates, forecasts, and economic and statistical indicators.

Other Resources

AHA Guide to the Health Care Field
Provides comprehensive information on hospitals and health care systems. Beyond contact and demographic information, this encyclopedic directory includes exclusive hospital and health care statistics. Hospital profiles include physician arrangements, hospital organizational structure, utilization data, primary service data, approval code/accreditations, and Medicare Provider Identification.
AHA Hospital Statistics
American Hospital Directory
The American Hospital Directory® provides data, statistics, and analytics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide. AHD.com® hospital information includes both public and private sources such as Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, and commercial licensors.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
CDC Data and Statistics
Find data and statistics by topic including alcohol use, life expectancy, oral health, etc.
CDC FastStats
Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.
CDC Health, United States
CDC Health provides national trends in health statistics.
CDC WONDER
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
CensusScope
CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. With eye-catching graphics and exportable trend data, CensusScope is designed for both generalists and specialists.
CMS - Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
This site gives you direct access to public data released by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource
The Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) is the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) electronic database comprised of health studies of DOE contract workers and environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE facilities. Find datasets and working data files with raw data.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.

Sage Data
Find, visualize, and share billions of U.S. and international statistics from trusted sources that cover business, crime, health, labor and more.
data.census.gov
data.census.gov is now the primary platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau, including the American Community Survey, the American Housing Survey, The Decennial Censuses (10 year surveys), Economic Census and Census Bureau surveys.

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUPnet)
HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). Find health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties.
Health and Medical Care Archive
The data collections in HMCA primarily includes large-scale surveys of the American public about public health, attitudes towards health reform, and access to medical care; surveys of health care professionals and organizations, public health professionals, and nurses; evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care, and many other topics and populations of interest.
Health Reform Monitoring Survey
The HRMS provides information on trends in health insurance coverage and related health outcomes, addresses important ACA policy and implementation issues, and collects data on a broad range of other health topics.
Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program produces a wide range of information about workplace injuries and illnesses. These data are collected and reported annually through the Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (SOII) and the Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries (CFOI).
Medicaid Statistical Information System
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

Social Explorer
Social Explorer offers the ability to create customized maps and reports of demographic, housing, and employment patterns throughout the United States using data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
View Research Guide
Statista
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
US Census Bureau | Census of Population and Housing
The census tells us who we are and where we are going as a nation. The census helps our communities determine where to build everything from schools to supermarkets, and from homes to hospitals. It helps the government decide how to distribute funds and assistance to states and localities. It is also used to draw the lines of legislative districts and reapportion the seats each State holds in Congress..

Kathryn A. Martin Library

HCM 4580: Health Services Research Methods

National Statistics

Start Here

Other Resources