Research Guides: WRIT 3160: Advanced Writing: Social Sciences Research Guide: Find Articles

General Databases

Don't forget to check out the Tips and Tools page of this research guide!

Articles & Books
Search multiple databases at the same time.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering most disciplines.
Resource Guide PDF Video Tutorials
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, popular magazines and other resources covering most disciplines. A great place to start your research on any topic.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Our subscribed content includes the Sustainability, Life Sciences, Arts & Sciences I-VII, XII, XV, and Ireland collections and more than 70,000 DRM-free ebooks from academic publishers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from SAGE journals in the social sciences and humanities, the life sciences, biomedical sciences, neuroscience, pharmacology, engineering, and material sciences.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full text of selected journals and selected reference books published by Elsevier. Full text indexing available for all Elsevier journals from v. 1, issue 1.

Selected Subject Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journals and literature on agriculture, pollution, animals, environment, policy, natural resources, water issues and more. Searches tools like AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases.
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search bibliographic records from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, disabled persons, physical fitness, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health and more. References from journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings.

Access Note: Access is limited to four (4) simultaneous users. If you are unable to access, try again later. Please log out when you have finished.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,400 journals on psychology, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics and physiology from the American Psychological Association (APA).
PubMed -- UMD Students, Staff & Faculty This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care. Full text access to articles subscribed to by UMD Library.

Selected News Databases

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends aligned with all curricular areas from credible, vetted, international, national and local news sources. Includes over 100 Minnesota sources, including the Duluth News Tribune.
Duluth News Tribune, 1995-Current (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Duluth News Tribune is provide through our subscription to Access World News. Coverage from December 2018 moving forward is full-color reproduction of original documents.
New York Times, 1980-Current (ProQuest Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
New York Times (Late Edition, East Coast), New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Westlaw | News This link opens in a new window
Read newspapers, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and wires from the United States or around the world. Select the area in the world you want to focus on or browse by topic.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

WRIT 3160: Advanced Writing: Social Sciences Research Guide

Finding UMD Access in Google Scholar

General Databases

Don't forget to check out the Tips and Tools page of this research guide!

Selected Subject Databases

Selected News Databases