Research Guides: MKTG 3701: Principles of Marketing : Company and Industry Research

Your Brainstorming

You can find the Google Doc developed in class here: z.umn.edu/SearchResources. If you would like to set up your free Wall Street Journal subscription, you can do that below.

Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com)
Get WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
Access available only for University of Minnesota Twin Cities and Duluth students, faculty, and staff. No guest access available. Each user must set up a personal account to save articles, create alerts, download apps, and use other features. Once a personal account is created, you can access WSJ.com from anywhere.

Company Research

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Comprehensive Morningstar Reports on more than 8,000 stocks and 12,000 mutual funds.
Passport
Comprehensive market research database incorporating research analysis and detailed statistics of global markets and consumers. Its emphasis is on consumer-related industries across more than 200 countries and regions.
PitchBook
Search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.

Access Note: To obtain access, register for a personal account using your @d.umn.edu email address and follow these instructions. If you have trouble registering from off campus, try connecting to the University of Minnesota Network via our campus VPN. Accounts expire in August of each year. Downloads set at 10/day and 25/month per user; resets monthly.
FactSet
Platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets. Coverage includes data on ownership and private equity and venture capital investments.

Access Note: To obtain access, register for a personal account using your @d.umn.edu email address. If you have transferred to Duluth from another UMN campus, you may need to update your email domain.
Registration Instructions
- Request an account using your UMD email address.
- Within 48 hours, you should expect to receive an assigned factset.net ID delivered to your UMD email address.
- Go to https://my.factset.com, enter the factset.net ID provided below and then click on the Register button. FactSet will then email a one-time passcode to your UMD email address which will be needed to set your permanent password.
- Once logged in, you will be walked through the account customization and setup process.
Install Workstation (optional)
- If you wish to use the FactSet Workstation for the first time on your machine, please download from: https://support.factset.com/workstation/.
- Once the MSI has downloaded, double-click the file and click through the Next, Install and Finish buttons.
- After the installation is complete, a FactSet Authentication box will pop up for you to type in your factset.net ID and click Continue.
- A one-time passcode will be emailed to your university email address.
S&P Capital IQ
Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management.
Access Note: To obtain access, you will need to be registered for a personal account with Capital IQ. Need an account? Please contact our Business Librarian, Ian Moore, at imoore@d.umn.edu to request a Capital IQ account.
For similar content, try:

Industry Research

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for top journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Statista
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Mintel Reports & Global New Products Database
Market data, expert analysis, and informed recommendations on a range of markets and marketing issues. Also includes on-pack information for new products launched across 86 markets.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Search industry reports for the United States and individual states. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
BizMiner
Industry statistical reports available from the national to local (zip code) level.
Video Tutorials

Kathryn A. Martin Library

MKTG 3701: Principles of Marketing

Business & Economics Librarian

Your Brainstorming

Company Research

Registration Instructions

Install Workstation (optional)

Industry Research