The St. Louis County Map Gallery contains township maps and plat maps of St. Louis County, Minnesota. You can download maps as PDFs.

St. Louis County develops and provides a Land Atlas and Plat Book, which shows land and parcel ownership. The Land Ownership Index and Road Index are available for separate download.

Minnesota Historical Area Photographs Online is an interactive map. It consists of aerial views of many locations across Minnesota between the 1920s and 2000.

The John R. Borchert Map Library is physically located at the Wilson Library on the University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus. Their website offers data, databases, and guides for Minnesota, with material accessible online. The resources include plat maps and atlases, aerial photography, digital historical maps of the Twin Cities, and links to other sources for information about the geography of Minnesota and elsewhere.

The map collection at the Minnesota Historical Society consists of about 19,000 maps and nearly 2,000 volumes of atlases. The collection strongly emphasizes the Minnesota Territory and the state of Minnesota, its regions, counties and cities from 1849 to the present, among a wider scope of locations.

The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division. Originally created for fire insurance companies to assess liability, Sanborn Fire Insurance maps show a footprint of buildings to scale.

ArchivesSpace provides descriptions of archival collections held in the UMD Archives. Search results might also include information about collections at the UMN-Twin Cities archives. ArchivesSpace includes records for most, but not all of the collections at UMD.

The map collection includes maps of the United States and Canada, the Midwest Area, Great Lakes, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, and more detailed maps of counties, towns, and mines. Maps are described in a regional and chronological outline but are not indexed. Each map has a print information sheet giving title, cartographer, publisher, printer, place of publication or printing, a general description as to map type, and the map’s physical condition.

This collection does not have a digitized index or electronic finding tool. Please contact Archives staff for information about maps held in this collection.