Research Guides: WS 3400 Women and Film Research Guide: Find Information Sources

Find Sources

Newspapers

Newspapers may include interviews with individuals who make films or appear in films. They also will include reviews of films.

Search multiple newspapers by choosing the Newspaper button under the search box on the library homepage.

Choose individual newspaper titles to search by using the Material Types drop down menu from the Database List page.

Newspaper Search
Multiple papers
Newspaper Databases
Current

Magazine Articles

Magazines may have interviews with individuals who make films or appear in them; you might also find feature articles on the film industry.

Use the Articles and Books search box from the library homepage.
Then use the Material Types Filters limit your results to Magazine Articles.

Articles & Books Search on the Library Homepage

Academic Articles

Articles in scholarly journals provide detailed analysis on a wide variety of subjects related to women, feminism, and films. Search these databases or journals using different sets of keywords.

Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic citations for 800 essential sources including journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations and grey literature published from 1972 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Our subscribed content includes the Sustainability, Life Sciences, Arts & Sciences I-VII, XII, XV, and Ireland collections and more than 70,000 DRM-free ebooks from academic publishers.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from SAGE journals in the social sciences and humanities, the life sciences, biomedical sciences, neuroscience, pharmacology, engineering, and material sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.

Films for the Feminist Classroom
FFC, an online, open-access journal, publishes film reviews that explore the value of films as pedagogical tools in the feminist classroom. It includes special features, such as interviews with filmmakers, and reviews of film festivals. Films for the Feminist Classroom (FFC) is hosted by the Multicultural Women’s and Gender Studies Program at Texas Woman’s University

Organizations

Non-profit organizations working to advance women and women's work in the film industry.

Geena Davis Institute
For 20 years, the Geena Davis Institute has been at the forefront of championing equitable representation in media. Our commitment to building a better world extends beyond gender, encompassing the interconnected identities often marginalized in the media. Through our ground-breaking research, we understand the life-changing impact of representation, and have devoted ourselves to pioneering new pathways within entertainment and media.
Women in Film
Women in Film advocates for and advances the careers of women, nonbinary, and trans people working in the screen industries - to achieve parity and transform culture.
Women Make Movies
Women Make Movies has been championing women filmmakers and their stories for 50 years. We support women producers and directors from the beginning, planting the seeds for a diverse and inclusive filmmaking landscape. As the world’s leading distributor of independent films by and about women, we amplify historically ignored voices and challenge the mainstream media.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

WS 3400 Women and Film Research Guide

Social Sciences Librarian

Find Sources

Newspapers

Magazine Articles

Academic Articles

Organizations