This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Communication Sciences and Disorders" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Sciences and Disorders  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/csd Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Education

  • Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
    Education Research Complete covers topics that include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
  • Educator's Reference Complete (Gale)
    Focuses on educational principles, child development, psychology, and best practices in education. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • ERIC (ProQuest)
    Index to educational materials. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    ERIC contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
    Full-text for many ERIC (ED) documents, 1996 - present
  • Professional Collection (Gale)
    Includes more than 300 full text journals for educators.Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
    Designed for professional educators. Access to nearly 520 high quality education journals. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • DSH Abstracts
    PRINT INDEX - This was the major Communication Sciences and Disorders index until it ceased in 1985. The UMD Library has this paper index from Vol. 1-25, 1960-1985. It is located in the Library Annex index area (Index WV270 D811x). This is a good source if you are looking for older research.

Language

Medical

Psychology

Citation

  • Web of Science
    Online versions of ISI's citation indexes--Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Scopus
    An abstract and citation database with a single search platform searching content from ScienceDirect, Scopus, SciTopics, and relevant Web content.
  • Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff
    Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless change Google Scholar preferences on your computer. More detailed instructions can be found here.

Additional Resources

  • JSTOR
    Full text and index of over 1200 scholarly journals from various disciplines.
  • Project Muse
    Arts, humanities. social sciences and mathematics
  • Science Direct (Elsevier)
    Full text of selected journals and selected reference books published by Elsevier. Full text indexing available for all Elsevier journals from v. 1, issue 1.
  • Academic OneFile (Gale)
    Interdisciplinary index of major academic periodicals. Partially paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Interdisciplinary index to academic journals; provides full-content for over 3400 titles. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota. Find It full text retrieval enabled

Dissertations

  • Dissertations & Theses (CIC only)
    Full text master and doctoral dissertations of any CIC university from 1997 to present. Click here for a list of CIC schools.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
    Master and doctoral dissertations, including full-text of any CIC university from 1997 to present. Click here for a list of CIC schools.
  • UMD d-Commons
    Click on the "College of Education and Human Service Professions" link. You can choose between "CEHSP Theses and Dissertations" or "M.Ed. Field Project Research Paper." Most of the online sources start in 2011.
  • University of Minnesota Digital Conservancy Dissertations and Theses
    The dissertations and theses in the University Digital Conservancy are submitted through the Graduate School with the students' permission. They comprise the official, approved version of these works. Dissertations in the Digital Conservancy date from 2007. Master's Plan A theses date from 2009.
  • Digital Commons Network (bepress)
    The Digital Commons Network aggregates full-text open access peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations
    Open access graduate theses and dissertations from around the world. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
  • DART-Europe
    A single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs).
 

Find It

Some of the databases have full-text and you click on a HTML or PDF link or image to retrieve the full text. 

If the item in not full text within the citation, you will see a  icon of in many of the databases. This icon helps you retrieve the full-text article.

Click on this icon and if the full-text is available at the UMD library, another window will open with "Full text from database name" (often more than one database). Click on the Full text from to retrieve article.

If the full-text is not available through UMD databases, you will see "Sorry, we don't have an online copy, but...."

For "Find It" instructions, click on down arrow on "Find Articles" tab. 

If the "Find It" icon is not available in a database. The following steps can be taken to obtain the item:

E-Journal Locator- searches to see if journal full-text within UMD databases

Library Catalog- checks to see if library owns in print, microfilm or online.

Interlibrary Loan - get item from another library. 

 

 

Links to Other Databses

Databases by Ttile
Alphaabetical list of the databases owned by the UMD Library.

Databases by Subject
Check the databases receommend by the subject librarians for their disciplines.







Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip