Research Guides: English and Writing Studies Research Guide: Find Articles and Databases

Getting Started

This guide serves as an introduction to the English and Writing Studies resources provided by the Kathryn A. Martin Library. However, this guide is by no means a complete list of resources. To see all the available digital resources in English and Writing Studies, visit the A-Z databases list:

If you have questions, contact your librarian!

Subject Databases

These databases contain entries relevant to the study of languages and literatures, poetry, mythology and folklore. In addition, they contain articles or information related to broader topics in the humanities.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Citations date back to 1925.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Our subscribed content includes the Sustainability, Life Sciences, Arts & Sciences I-VII, XII, XV, and Ireland collections and more than 70,000 DRM-free ebooks from academic publishers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
This platform cross-searches the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism, and Something About the Author. Examine the lives and careers of authors as well as commentary on their works.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search newspaper databases available to the university on the ProQuest platform, including Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, U.S. Newsstream, the Historical New York Times, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

Using Find It

If the article is not available in full-text within the database click the icon (available in many of the database) to help you retrieve the full-text article. Another window will open to UMD Library Catalog.

After clicking the UMD Find It icon, if the article is not available online or in the library, UMD Library Catalog will say "Check availability":

If you are not already logged into your library account, click Sign in to request
Click Interlibrary Loan and log in using your UMD credentials.
Choose "date needed by" and your department.
Submit your request.

If you need assistance contact a librarian.

Do you have more questions about FindIt? Check out this video from UMN Libraries on the subject