Research Guides: Art and Design Research Guide: Find Articles and Databases

Introduction

This guide serves as an introduction to the art and design resources provided by the Kathryn A. Martin Library. Each of the resources listed here is an excellent starting point for research in the field of art history. However, this guide is by no means a complete list of resources. To see more art and design resources, visit the Art and Design subject page on the A-Z databases list:

Art and Design Subject Page

If you have questions, contact your librarian!

Databases for Art Students and Faculty

Library databases contain the academic, or scholarly, articles you need for your research. The databases listed here are the best places to get started when you're looking for academic research related to art and design.

Articles & Books
Searches across a wide range of articles, journals, books, and media held by the library.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Our subscribed content includes the Sustainability, Life Sciences, Arts & Sciences I-VII, XII, XV, and Ireland collections and more than 70,000 DRM-free ebooks from academic publishers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.

Using Find It

If the article is not available in full-text within the database click the icon (available in many of the database) to help you retrieve the full-text article. Another window will open to UMD Library Catalog.

After clicking the UMD Find It icon, if the article is not available online or in the library, UMD Library Catalog will say "Check availability":

If you are not already logged into your library account, click Sign in to request
Click Interlibrary Loan and log in using your UMD credentials.
Choose "date needed by" and your department.
Submit your request.

If you need assistance contact a librarian.

Do you have more questions about FindIt? Check out this video from UMN Libraries on the subject