The Truth Date Range:
1917-1923 Description:
The Truth, the official organ of the Socialist parties of Duluth, Minnesota and Superior, Wisconsin was published weekly between October 12, 1917 and April 13, 1923, when it ceased publication. Contains articles about women in the labor movement as well as the suffrage movement. Materials available online:http://www.mnhs.org/newspapers/hub/truth Access Notes:
Available online through the Minnesota Historical Society, and on microfilm at the Duluth Public Library.
Slide Collection Date Range:
1890 - 1997 Description:
Section A of the DPL slide collection contains hundreds of photographs of the Duluth Public Library and its staff, most of whom have been women. Included are pictures of women bookmobile drivers from the 1920s through the 1970s, and a 1929 photograph of the all-women library hockey team, the Library Wildcats. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes:
Slides can be checked out from the library. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.
Resources at the Iron Range Resource Center
Cherry Women’s Co-op Guild records Date Range: 1921 - 1977 Description: The collection includes activity reports, minutes, attendance, correspondence, and other published and unpublished material for several different cooperatives. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are availalbe for use at the IRRC library. For more information or to make an appointment, email archivist@mndiscoverycenter.com or call (218) 254-1229.
Coleraine-Bovey Woman’s Club records Date Range: 1911 - 1987 Description: The collection consists of constitution and bylaws (1922, 1967), annual programs (1911-1982), minutes (1936-1955), photographs (1930), club history (circa 1978), scrapbooks (1968-1972), and related material documenting women’s study clubs located on Minnesota’s Mesabi Iron Range. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are availalbe for use at the IRRC library. For more information or to make an appointment, email archivist@mndiscoverycenter.com or call (218) 254-1229.
Eveleth Woman’s Club records Date Range: 1906 - 2000 Description: The collection consists of constitutions and bylaws (1909, 1945), meeting minutes (1906-2000), essays (1906-1907), scrapbooks (1937-2000), and related material documenting a
female study club’s activities in northeastern Minnesota. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are availalbe for use at the IRRC library. For more information or to make an appointment, email archivist@mndiscoverycenter.com or call (218) 254-1229.
Grand Rapids Woman’s Club records Date Range: 1874 - 1990 Description: The collection consists of constitution (1898), annual programs and reports (1926-1927, 1939, 1987-1988), club history (circa 1936), news clippings and correspondence (1906, 1926, 1987-1990), a play (1971), and related material documenting a woman’s study club located on Minnesota’s Mesabi Iron Range. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are availalbe for use at the IRRC library. For more information or to make an appointment, email archivist@mndiscoverycenter.com or call (218) 254-1229.
Hibbing-Chisholm Women's Club records Date Range: 1923-1982 Description: The collection consists of minutes and correspondence (1955-1981), newspaper clippings (1926, 1965-1981), photographs (1971, 1982), scrapbooks (1946-1979), and print material. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are availalbe for use at the IRRC library. For more information or to make an appointment, email archivist@mndiscoverycenter.com or call (218) 254-1229.
Minnesota Federation of Women's Club, Eighth District records Date Range: 1973-1993 Description: The collection consists primarily of scrapbooks; other records include minutes, newsletters, budgets, member club reports, programs, directories, histories, and other printed matter. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are availalbe for use at the IRRC library. For more information or to make an appointment, email archivist@mndiscoverycenter.com or call (218) 254-1229.
"Women in Politics" oral history project Dates: July 1990, July 1992 Description: The collection consists of audio cassette interviews, some with accompanying transcripts, of nine women currently or formerly involved in Iron Range politics. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are availalbe for use at the IRRC library. For more information or to make an appointment, email archivist@mndiscoverycenter.com or call (218) 254-1229.
Resources at the University of Minnesota Duluth
Elizabeth Ann Bartlett Making Waves papers Date: 2016 Description: The collection consists of Bartlett’s written histories of feminist organizations in Duluth and Superior that were not included in her book Making Waves (2016) and recorded interviews with women who played key roles in organizations that are included in the book. The documents are in PDF format, mostly consisting of essays about 5-10 pages in length. There is also a chapter length document on the University of Minnesota Duluth Women’s Studies program. Materials available online: Some materials available online at
https://libarchive.d.umn.edu/index.php?p=digitallibrary/digitalcontent&id=190 Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Department of Women's Studies. Office Files and Records. #906 Date Range: 1979 - 1985 Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Women's Studies. Women's Advisory Board and Women's Coordinating Committee #586 Date Range: 1982 - 1983 Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Women's Resource Center. Office Files. #644 Date Range: 1975 - 1986 Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Women's Institute of Duluth records Date Range: 1941 - 1995 Description: The collection consists of records on artists and performers the Institute brought or attempted to bring to Duluth. The files contain the contracts, correspondence, publicity materials and photographs of the artists. Also included in the collection are annual meeting minutes and reports by committee, news clippings, correspondence, invitations, programs and scrapbooks. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Duluth’s Women’s Republican Club records Date Range: 1940 - 1997 Description: The collection consists of minutes, correspondence, reports, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and campaign literature. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Wise Women Radio records Date Range: 1981-2000 Description: Wise Woman Radio a women’s music radio program began airing in 1981 on the Duluth, Minnesota public radio station WDTH (now KUMD). The purpose of the show was expressed in the opening statement for each program, “Our purpose is to promote awareness of women’s music, issues, culture, and history. Join us now as we explore the female experience.” The collection contains meeting notes and minutes, memos to on-air volunteer announcers from station staff person Jean Johnson, and letters, 1981-2000; program notes, 1982; and posters, calendars, and newspaper clippings. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Duluth Business and Professional Women’s Club records Date Range: 1922 - 1973 Description: The Duluth Business and Professional Women’s Club was organized in November, 1915 to “elevate the standards of women in business and to promote the interests of business and professional women.” The organization became affiliated with the National Federation of Business and Professional Women’s Clubs in 1921.This collection consists primarily of scrapbooks. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Women in Politics oral history interviews Date Range: 1978 - 1979 Description: In 1978 and 1979 historian Barbara Sommer interviewed fifteen women form the Duluth, Minnesota area who were involved in politics as elected officials or activists. In the interviews the women discussed their reasons for entering politics, their involvements past and present, and their own and their families' reactions to their involvement in politics. The collection consists of audio recordings of the interviews, typed indexes to the topics covered in the recordings, copies of the question formats for elected officials and activists, and transcripts of the interviews. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Resources at the University of Wisconsin-Superior
Superior Normal School and Superior Teachers College records Date Range:
1896 - 1930s Description:
UW-Superior was originally founded as a Normal School devoted to teacher training. In these early days, the student population was almost entirely women. Early school records, including yearbooks, student newspapers, historic campus photographs, student organization records, and other materials, offer insight into life for young women in Superior in the late 1890s through the end of WWII. Materials available online:
All yearbooks have been digitized and are available online. Students newspapers through 2007 have been digitized and are available online. Some historic photographs are available online. Access Notes:
Some of these materials are freely available on the web and can be accessed from anywhere. Physical copies of all materials can be viewed at the archives. Appointments are strongly encouraged. See https://library.uwsuper.edu/specialcollections for information on contacting the archives
Superior Woman's Club records Date Range:
1909-1994 Description: Records of a club founded in 1893 "to promote the moral and intellectual development of its members." Originally called the Women's Club of West Superior (often referred to as the Ladies' Literary Club), the organization changed its name to the Superior Woman's Club in 1926. Until World War II the members focused on projects, issues, and topics traditionally associated with the woman's sphere: home hygiene, domestic economy, infant care, etc. After the war years, club activities focused on major projects to benefit the community, such as founding the Djordje Kostic Institute for Audio-Linguistic Studies. The collection includes minutes, financial and membership records, extensive scrapbooks documenting club activities and community improvement projects, photographs, historical information, the constitution and bylaws, and incorporation information. There are also brief records of the Djordje Kostic Institute. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UW-Superior Archives. Appointments are strongly encouraged. See https://library.uwsuper.edu/specialcollections for information on contacting the archives. These materials are also part of the Superior Area Research Center, and can be circulated to other UW campuses for in-archives use. See https://library.uwsuper.edu/arc/request-materials for details.
Register of sporting people Date Range:
1900-1910 Description: Record of prostitutes registered by the police, listing the date of registration, name and alias of the prostitute, present and former residences, and references, as well as detailed physical descriptions such as age, height, weight, coloring, and nationality and additional remarks describing unique traits. The records are updated with notes of additional arrests and whereabouts of the women. Volume 1 covers the years 1900-1905; Volume 2, 1905-1908; and Volume 3, 1908-1910. Note: This collection may contain material that is sexist, racist, or otherwise biased. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UW-Superior Archives. Appointments are strongly encouraged. See https://library.uwsuper.edu/specialcollections for information on contacting the archives. These materials are also part of the Superior Area Research Center, and can be circulated to other UW campuses for in-archives use. See https://library.uwsuper.edu/arc/request-materials for details.
Resources at the College of St. Scholastica
The College of St. Scholastica Archives Date Range: 1903 - present Description: No separate name is given to St. Scholastica's collections related to women's history, but as this college was an all-women's college from 1912 to 1969 and has always been dedicated to pre-professional programs especially in the health sciences, unique records to support women's studies are in this archives.
Materials in the Archives include historical documents, student publications such as newspapers and yearbooks, college publications such as catalogs and magazines, and departmental and committee documents. The archives also contains over 150,000 images including photographs, slides, and negatives and recordings both audio and visual. The 300+ recordings have all been digitized in order to preserve them from obsolete formats. Materials available online: College publications (1903 to present), photographs (1909 to present) Access Notes: These materials are open for viewing. Advance notification is strongly encouraged so someone will be able to assist you. Please email librarian Heidi Johnson who volunteers for the Archives at hjohnso2@css.edu or call the Library (218-723-6140) for further help.
