The Protocols were developed to provide best practices for culturally responsive care and use of Native American archival and documentary material held by non-tribal organizations. The Protocols build upon numerous professional ethical codes; a number of significant international declarations recognizing Indigenous rights, including several now issued by the United Nations; and the ground-breaking Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Protocols for Libraries, Archives, and Information Services.
The proposed standards and goals articulated in Protocols for Native American Archival Materials are meant to inspire and to foster mutual respect and reciprocity. The Protocols include recommendations for non-tribal libraries and archives as well as Native American communities.
-from http://www2.nau.edu/libnap-p/faq.html

The case study focuses on culturally sensitive American Indian archival material held by a non-tribal institution, and working with the Native American community to identify best practices. It involves balancing the Protocols for Native American Archival Material with one specific aspect each of the Privacy and Judgment portions of the SAA Code of Ethics:
• As appropriate, archivists place access restrictions on collections to ensure that privacy and confidentiality are maintained,
particularly for individuals and groups who have no voice or role in collections’ creation, retention, or public use.
• Archivists are encouraged to consult with colleagues, relevant professionals, and communities of interest to ensure that diverse perspectives inform their actions and decisions.
American Indian archival material held by non-tribal institutions offers a number of challenges. Seeking the advice of tribal members can help foster working relationships and provide additional context to the material, ultimately enhancing a researcher’s experience.

Christen, Kimberly (2015) "Tribal Archives, Traditional Knowledge, and Local Contexts: Why the “s” Matters," Journal of Western Archives 6, no. 1, Article 3.
Abstract:
In this article I examine the landscape of tribal or Indigenous archival management as it relates to digital assets and, more specifically, how these might help us reimagine the intellectual property needs of local, traditional, and indigenous communities, libraries, archives, and museums as they seek to manage, preserve, and reuse their digital cultural heritage. The colonial collecting project was a destructive mechanism by which Native materials were unhinged from their local places and knowledge and at the same time used as markers of Native erasure. As part of a practical solution to contemporary intellectual property dilemmas faced by Indigenous peoples globally due in large part to the residue of the colonial landscape, I will introduce the Local Contexts project and the Traditional Knowledge License and Label platform (www.localcontexts.org) as one intervention into the sometimes-confusing arena of Indigenous intellectual property rights and the digital commons.

Transcript and select slides from a 2016 talk by Bergis Jules, presented at the National Digital Stewardship Alliance annual meeting.

(Poster)
Content produced in Michelle Caswell’s "Archives, Records, and Memory" class, Fall 2016, UCLA
Poster design by Gracen Brilmyer

Caswell, Michelle (2017) "Teaching to Dismantle White Supremacy in Archives," The Library Quarterly 87, no. 3: 222-235.
Abstract:
This article reflects on an exercise I developed to enable students to identify the ways in which white privilege is embedded in archival institutions and to collectively strategize concrete steps to dismantle white supremacy in their own archival practice. It argues that, in the face of disastrous political events—such as the election of an explicitly racist protofascist as US president—LIS faculty must intervene pedagogically to meet the needs of their most vulnerable students and to model behaviors of critique and resistance if we aim to train students who will disrupt the status quo of oppression as LIS professionals. The article includes printable graphics designed by Gracen Brilmyer and generated by the class exercise to serve as a visual reminder of our obligation to dismantle white supremacy in archival studies and archives more broadly.

Caldera, Mary A, and Kathryn M. Neal. Through the Archival Looking Glass: A Reader on Diversity and Inclusion, 2014.
Through the Archival Looking Glass: A Reader on Diversity and Inclusion, edited by Mary A. Caldera and Kathryn M. Neal, features ten essays that explore prominent themes related to diversity, including creating a diverse record, recruiting diversity to the profession and retaining a diverse workforce, and questioning the archive itself, on representation, authority, neutrality, objectivity, and power.