Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Inclusive Local History Project

Making Superior, WI and Northern MN sources on indigenous people, people of color, women, and LGBTIQA2S+ people more accessible

Using the Archives during COVID-19

The UMD Archives is currently closed, but we can answer questions by email and phone, and provide a limited number of scans of requested research materials. Please let us know if you are a current UMD student, staff, or faculty member who needs archival materials for a class or work related project as we will prioritize those requests. 

During June 2021, the UMD Archives will be unable to respond to most research requests because the staff will be focusing on a collections maintenance project. We are sorry for the inconvenience to researchers and look forward to working with you again soon. 

Questions? Contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or 218-726-8526.

Please contribute to the Northeastern Minnesota COVID-19 Community Archive Project.

Resources at the University of Minnesota Duluth

  • North Country Women's Coffeehouse records, 1981-2008
    Date Range: 1981 - 2008
    Collection Description:  The collection contains articles of incorporation and bylaws, financial statements, flyers, promotional and biographical material from performers, posters, and local and national pamphlets and publications. Most of the materials date from 1981 to about 1992.
    Materials available online: Not available online. 
    Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
  • Aurora Northland Lesbian Center records
    Date Range: 1988 - 2012
    Collection Description: The collection contains articles of incorporation; by-laws; updated mission statements; organizational policies and procedures; board minutes and accompanying materials including some financial statements, 1990-2009; newsletters, 1989-1994; letters; and news clippings.
    Materials available online: Not available online.
    Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
  • Robert J. Jansen papers
    Date Range: 1949-2001
    Collection Description: The collection consists of family papers and photographs, organization records, and business records. The papers span Jansen’s life from grade school through college, political activities of the 1990s, Janzen's activism as a gay man, teaching career from Cal State Fresno through The College of St. Scholastica including the CSS grievance over tenure (1982-1983), the beginnings of his gay bar The Main Club, and the purchase and renovation of a Victorian house (his home in Duluth (1215 East Second Street) which was featured in a tour of the Duluth Preservation Alliance in 1995.
    Materials available online: Not available online.
    Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
  • UMD GLBT Advisory Commission Files #1114 
    Date Range: 1991 - 2005
    Materials available online: Not available online.
    Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.

Resources at the College of St. Scholastica

  • The College of St. Scholastica Archives
    Date Range: 1903 - present
    Collection Description: No separate name is given, but as this is a Catholic college, there are some unique albeit limited materials on the LGBTQIA community.
    Materials in the Archives include historical documents, student publications such as newspapers and yearbooks, college publications such as catalogs and magazines, and departmental and committee documents. The archives also contains over 150,000 images including photographs, slides, and negatives and recordings both audio and visual. The 300+ recordings have all been digitized in order to preserve them from obsolete formats.
    Materials available online: College publications (1903 to present), photographs (1909 to present)
    Access Notes:  These materials are open for viewing. Advance notification is strongly encouraged so someone will be able to assist you. Please email librarian Heidi Johnson who volunteers for the Archives at hjohnso2@css.edu or call the Library (218-723-6140) for further help.

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)