Indian Viewpoint Date Range: November 1973 through July/August 1975 Description:
A free monthly newsletter that was published in Duluth, MN by the Motivation Through Communication Project. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes:
This resource is part of the Duluth Public Library's Duluth and Minnesota collections, and can be used in the library.
Indian Resources Directory Date: 1974 Description:
From the inside cover: "The intention of this pamphlet is to acquaint you with Indian organizations and programs in the area." This pamphlet was created by the Duluth Indian Action Council. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes:
This resource is part of the Duluth Public Library's Duluth and Minnesota collections, and can be used in the library.
Resources at the Iron Range Resource Center
Indian Census Rolls Date Range:
1885-1940 Description:
The Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940, contain census rolls that were usually submitted each year by agents or superintendents in charge of Indian reservations, to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, as required by an act of July 4, 1884 (23 Stat. 98). The data on the rolls vary, but usually given are the English and/or Indian name of the person, roll number, age or date of birth, sex, and relationship to head of family. Materials available online:
The Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940, are indexed and available online at Ancestry.com and Fold3.com Access Notes:
The IRRC has microfilm rolls for those Chippewa (i.e., Ojibwe) reservations within Minnesota's boundaries. They may be used at the IRRC.
Resources at the University of Minnesota Duluth
Boundary Changes on the Fond du Lac Reservation oral history interviews Date Range: 1978 - 1979 Description:
In 1978 and 1979 historian Barbara Sommer interviewed residents of the Fond du Lac Reservation in Minnesota. The participants discussed and defined changes in the boundary of the Fond du Lac Reservation, MN. They also identified some changes in land use that occurred on the reservation and identified historic sites. The interviews include some spoken Ojibwe words and place names. The collection consists of audiorecordings of the interviews and one volume containing the project's final report, including background information and bibliography, and transcripts of the interviews. The recordings have been digitized. Materials available online:
Transcripts available online at https://libarchive.d.umn.edu/index.php?p=digitallibrary/digitalcontent&id=177&q=Boundary+Changes+on+the+Fond Access Notes:
The transcripts are available online. For more information or access to the recordings, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Norrgard Anishinaabe Collection Waasa Inaabidaa Archives Date: 2001 Description:
The collection contains video interviews and transcripts, scenic video footage, and dramatic re-enactment video footage for production of a six-part public television documentary about the history and culture of Anishinaabe Ojibwe people titled Waasa Inaabida: We Look In All Directions that aired in 2001. One topic is featured in each of the six parts. Each part is structured on interviews with tribal elders, historians, entrepreneurs, scholars, and leaders from the nineteen Great Lakes Ojibwe Bands of Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. The documentary was directed and produced by Lorraine Norrgard, written by James M. Fortier, edited by Chris Bacigalupo, with assistant direction/post-production supervision by Thomas Selinski, and primary research by Lyz Jaakola, narrated by Winona LaDuke, soundtrack by composer Peter Buffett, artistic design by Nick and Charlotte Hockings. The documentary was a production of PBS eight, WDSE-TV, Duluth, Minnesota, and produced in association with The Aboriginal People’s Television Network. DVDs of the six part finished documentary are available at the circulation desk in the Kathryn A. Martin Library DVD E99.C6 O3 2002. Materials available online: Transcripts and recordings available online at
https://reflections.mndigital.org/?utf8=%E2%9C%93&facet.sort=index&search_field=all_fields&q=Waasa+Inaabidaa Access Notes:
Most of the transcripts and recordings are available online. For more information, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Catholic Mission of Fond du Lac records Date Range: 1908 - 1978 Description: The collection contains materials on the history of the Catholic Mission and Catholic churches established to minister to Ojibwe people in the area of the Fond du Lac reservation near Cloquet, Minnesota. Materials were compiled by Father Alban Fruth of Holy Family Church in Cloquet in the late 1970s.The collection also contains copy prints of photographs including a 1908 group portrait at Holy Family Church; individual portraits of clergy; interior and exterior views of the old Sts. Mary and Joseph Church building; and two images of early parishoners Joe Posey, Mr. and Mrs. Peter Petite, Mrs. Shotley, Nancy Houle, and Mary Jackson. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: These materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Fond du Lac Ojibwe Heritage Collection: Jimmy Jackson, Sr., Ojibwe Medicine Man Date Range: 1987 - 1992 Description: Jackson, revered Ojibwa medicine man, tells how he became a medicine man. The interviews, conducted from 1987-1992, describe traditional Ojibwa culture as well as the practices of the medicine man. Materials available online: Not available online. Access Notes: For more information and to arrange for access to the interviews, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Stella Prince Stocker papers Date Range: 1894 - 1925 Description: Stella Prince Stocker was a Duluth musician, composer, and founder of the Duluth Cecilian Chorale Society. She was born in Jacksonville, Illinois, April 3, 1858, graduated from the University of Michigan in 1880, and came to Duluth in 1885. This collection includes handwritten diaries/journals and photo album that are accounts of camping trips onto Minnesota's White Earth and Red Lake Indian reservations and other visits to Mille Lacs, Leech Lake, Nett Lake, and Fond Du Lac. The photograph album holds snapshot illustrations of the same trips (1916, 1917). The trips were apparently made in preparation for writing the Sieur duLhut pageant. The 1916 volume contains 52 pages. The 1917 volume is 31 pages written in pencil.
The photograph album holds 145 snapshots, the largest of which are 3x3 ¼ inches. The photographs document individuals, scenes, dwellings, structures, campsites, dance, peace pipes, ceremonies, garments (including bandolier bags and beadwork), family groups, individual women, men, and children. Many of the snapshots are identified but many others are not. There are no original negatives. Materials available online:Stella Prince Stocker Diaries Transcription, https://libarchive.d.umn.edu/index.php?p=digitallibrary/digitalcontent&id=65 Access Notes: Some transcriptions are available online. All materials are available for use at the UMD Archives and Special Collections. For more information or to make an appointment, email libarchives@d.umn.edu or call (218) 726-8526.
Resources at the College of St. Scholastica
The College of St. Scholastica Archives Date Range: 1903 - present Description: No separate name is given to St. Scholastica's collections related to Indigenous peoples, but as this college was founded by Catholic Benedictine Sisters dedicated to honoring the indigenous culture, unique records to support Native American studies are in this archives. For example, the College founded its "American Indian Studies" program in 1972.
Materials in the Archives include historical documents, student publications such as newspapers and yearbooks, college publications such as catalogs and magazines, and departmental and committee documents. The archives also contains over 150,000 images including photographs, slides, and negatives and recordings both audio and visual. The 300+ recordings have all been digitized in order to preserve them from obsolete formats. Materials available online: College publications (1903 to present), photographs (1909 to present) Access Notes: These materials are open for viewing. Advance notification is strongly encouraged so someone will be able to assist you. Please email librarian Heidi Johnson who volunteers for the Archives at hjohnso2@css.edu or call the Library (218-723-6140) for further help.
