Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

Using the Archives during COVID-19

Is the UMD Archives open?

The UMD Archives is currently closed, but we can respond to questions by email and phone, and provide a limited number of scans of requested research materials. Please let us know if you are a current UMD student, staff, or faculty member who needs archival materials for a class or work related project as we will prioritize those requests.

Are any of the Archives’ collections available online?

Here is a list of digitized materials available online from the UMD Archives and Special Collections.

Can I make an appointment to use hard-copy archival materials on campus?

Not yet, but we hope to start making appointments again in late July or August. 

During June 2021, the UMD Archives will be unable to respond to most research requests because the staff will be focusing on a collections maintenance project. We are choosing to do this work while the Archives is still closed for onsite research due to COVID-19 related issues. We are sorry for the inconvenience to researchers and look forward to working with you again soon.

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)