Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

MGTS 4481: Strategic Management for Xin Liang

Fall 2020, for Xin Liang

My Remote Contact Information

  • Phone: 218-726-6157 (is forwarded)
  • Email: jvileta@d.umn.edu
  • Virtual meetings via Zoom or Google Hangouts for one on one, screen sharing, and group meetings. Please contact me for coordination.

Research Guide

​Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis 

Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews. Be sure to search by company name in the main search box.


Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
Search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other words related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.  Be sure to find the industry overview for you topic in this database. They will include the Porter's Five Forces.

 

Google Scholar

Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Look up industries, and related sub-topics,  products, or company names.

 

Hoover's Company Profiles
Hoover's delivers concise and current information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, strategy, and more. This database covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, as well as 225,000 key executives.

 

IBIS World Industry Reports

IBIS provides Industry market research reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries, plus Canada Industries, China Industries, and Global Industries, Each IBISWorld report includes:

  • An overview of the industry structure
  • The current industry performance and key external drivers
  • The industry outlook and lifecycle
  • Products and markets, including the supply chain, major markets and international trade
  • Competitive landscape and market share
  • Major companies
  • Key statistics and data.

You can find reports easily by browsing by industry sector, by SIC or NAICS codes, or or simply searching by keyword. This will be your main source for industry overviews.  

Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data.  Be sure to locate company annual reports and download the "Mergent Report" for your company.  See the Compare Companies Video.

 

MorningStar
More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research in "Stock Analysis". 

NetAdvantage
Superb company information, look up company by name.

Proquest News
Proquest News is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York TimesUse Proquest News to update the information you will find in your industry overviews.


Economist

New York Times

Wall Street Journal

 

Statista

features 1.5 million statistics on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors, on over 600 industries.

 

WestLaw News
Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications.  This is a key source for news and trade publications.


Other Suggested Websites

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:

 Comparing Companies

 

NAICS Classification and NAICS Search

What is NAICS?

How to search for NAICS Numbers?

 

SWOT Analysis

How to find SWOT Analysis

 

Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios

Sources of Ratios


If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills

AND

Citing Your Sources:
If you are writing a Report, you will need to cite your sources.  This webpage provides examples in APA Style. 

Updated September 10, 2020.