Skip to main content
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

FIN 3612: Managerial Finance for Tim Peterson

Fall 2019

My Remote Contact Information

  • Phone: 218-726-6157 (is forwarded)
  • Email: jvileta@d.umn.edu
  • Virtual meetings via Zoom or Google Hangouts for one on one, screen sharing, and group meetings. Please contact me for coordination.

Research Guide

​Suggested Sources for Company and Industrial Analysis 

 

BizMiner

BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. BizMiner is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry.

 

Business Insights: Essentials
This is an excellent source for information in periodicals and it has a number on electronic business reference sources as well. Look up companies by name, see periodicals, company histories, company rankings, market share, some financials, company lines of business that are connected to excellent industry overviews.  Use the Advanced Search option to find company histories, company rankings, market share, and industry overviews. Be sure to search by company name in the main search box.


Business Source Premier
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
Search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other words related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.  Be sure to find the industry overview for you topic in this database. They will include the Porter's Five Forces.

 

 

Platform used to analyze financial data from global equity and fixed income markets. Coverage includes data on ownership and private equity and venture capital investments.

Note: To get access, request an account using your UMD email. (Registration can require 24 hours or more.)

Registration Instructions

  • Request an account using your UMD email address.
  • Within 48 hours, you should expect to receive an assigned factset.net ID delivered to your UMD email address.
  • Go to https://my.factset.com, enter the factset.net ID provided below and then click on the Register button. FactSet will then email a one-time passcode to your UMD email address which will be needed to set your permanent password.
  • Once logged in, you will be walked through the account customization and setup process.

Install Workstation (optional)
  • Request an account using your UMD email address.
  • Within 48 hours, you should expect to receive an assigned factset.net ID delivered to your UMD email address.
  • Go to https://my.factset.com, enter the factset.net ID provided below and then click on the Register button. FactSet will then email a one-time passcode to your UMD email address which will be needed to set your permanent password.
  • Once logged in, you will be walked through the account customization and setup process.
    • If you wish to use the FactSet Workstation for the first time on your machine, please download from: https://support.factset.com/workstation/.
    • Once the MSI has downloaded, double-click the file and click through the Next, Install and Finish buttons.
    • After the installation is complete, a FactSet Authentication box will pop up for you to type in your factset.net ID and click Continue.
    • A one-time passcode will be emailed to your university email address.

Google Scholar

Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles.  Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles.  Look up industries, and related sub-topics,  products, or company names.

 

IBIS World Industry Reports

IBIS provides Industry market research reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries, plus Canada Industries, China Industries, and Global Industries, Each IBISWorld report includes:

  • An overview of the industry structure
  • The current industry performance and key external drivers
  • The industry outlook and lifecycle
  • Products and markets, including the supply chain, major markets and international trade
  • Competitive landscape and market share
  • Major companies
  • Key statistics and data.

You can find reports easily by browsing by industry sector, by SIC or NAICS codes, or or simply searching by keyword. This will be your main source for industry overviews.   Look for the "Supermarkets & Grocery Stores in the United States" AND "Specialty Food Stores in the US" reports. Or, look for reports in other industries.

Mergent Online
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data.  Be sure to locate company annual reports and download the "Mergent Report" for your company.  See the Compare Companies Video.

 

MorningStar
More excellent financial data, and make sure to look at current and archived Analyst Research in "Stock Analysis". 

 

Proquest News
Proquest News is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York TimesUse Proquest News to update the information you will find in your industry overviews.


Economist

New York Times

Wall Street Journal

 

Passport  from Euromonitor
This is our best source for international marketing information. Here are narrative reports and statistics on consumer products, consumer lifestyles, and retailing structures of 50-60 major nations, including the United States. 4,000 international company reports can be found here too. Use the keyword “Text” search option located at the top of the screen.  Search for companies, products, and industries. 

NetAdvantage
Good company information, look up company by name.

 

WestLaw News
Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications.  This is a key source for news and trade publications.


Other Suggested Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia includes information more often associated with almanacs, gazetteers, and specialist magazines, as well as coverage of current events. It has almost 6 million entries, and is constantly growing. Many articles are long, detailed, with sources and related links. Wikipedia has been controversial because of its open collaborative nature, however it has received good marks in recent scholarly journals. This may be a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues, and a source of keywords to help while searching in our business databases.

Supermarket -- Wikipedia

List of Supermarket Chains in the United States -- Wikipedia

Grocery Store -- Wikipedia

Whole Foods Market -- Wikipedia

Kroger -- Wikipedia

Portal Supermarkets -- Wikipedia

Read our MarketLine Reports:

Food Retail in the United States -- MarketLine Report

Organic Food in the United States -- MarketLine Report

Whole Foods Market -- MarketLine Report

The Kroger Company -- MarketLine Report

Supermarket Facts

 

How to Compare the Financials of One Company to Another:

 Comparing Companies

 

NAICS Classification and NAICS Search

What is NAICS?

How to search for NAICS Numbers?

 

SWOT Analysis

How to find SWOT Analysis

 

Comparing Companies -- Financial Ratios

Sources of Ratios


If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in:

Presentation Skills

AND

Citing Your Sources:
If you are writing a Report, you will need to cite your sources.  This webpage provides examples in APA Style.