All-University Catalog Book Search
Search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by email. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources are now at your finger tips!!
Amazon.com Book Search
A user friendly way to discover books on various topics. Titles found here can be searched in the UMD and Twin Cities catalogs, or requested via our Library's Inter Library Loan Service.
Find over 450 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in thousands of libraries. THIS IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a great source of news and information about the college and university scene. It is widely read by faculty members and administrators. This single title could be a great initial source for topics situated in higher education.
Duluth News Tribune
A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local businesses, business people, state industries, and economic issues. Covers 11/1995 - present.
Is a leading scholarly database, it provides access to nearly 5,000 full-text academic journals along with magazines, newspapers, and other valuable resources. Contains over fifty million articles.
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to Library electronic holdings via "Find It." Contains over 380 million articles. This is your first best place to search for scholarly journal articles. Use our Ulrichsweb database to verify if a journal title is peer reviewed.
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.
Proquest News is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back over 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times and other major national and regional newspapers. Search for keywords related to your topic or subject.
Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 news business information publications. This is a our major database for trade publication information. Look up recent articles on trends and developments in your topic. This is a key source of non-scholarly business information.
Other Suggested Websites ---
Local Colleges and Universities
Other Colleges and Universities
Examples of Local Government Websites:
To find other websites, use the major Search Engines:
The first place to go to search the web.
An excellent alternative to Google.
If you are giving classroom presentations, note the useful information you will find in: Presentation Skills
If you are writing a report, you will need to cite your sources. Note that you will find useful information in: Citing Your Sources