Research Guides: HLTH 3116: Principles of Epidemiology and Human Disease Research Guide: Home

Reference Librarian

Subjects: Applied Human Sciences, Citation Styles, Communication Sciences and Disorders, Education, Psychology, Social Work

Get It

The Library can retrieve books from any University of Minnesota Library and deliver them to the Circulation Desk for you to pick up.

is a service which provides paging service for all registered UMD Library users, with U-wide paging and lending available to students, faculty, and staff.

Get It offers students, faculty, and staff the ability to manage renewals through My Account on the Library Web site. You can search the University of Minnesota All Campus Catalog to check the holdings throughout the UM system and then select the "Find or Request" tab and then "Sign in to Request" and click on to order an available copy or recall one that is checked out. The item will be shipped via courier if coming from another campus location.

Find additional information at our Get It information page.

Find background information and history

Kathryn A. Martin Library: All Campus Catalog This link opens in a new window
Searches all University of Minnesota campus catalogs for books and media.
Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Encyclopedia Britannica, a general information source for all age groups.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. MedlinePlus links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
Training materials: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/training/trainers.html

Find research articles

PubMed -- UMD Students, Staff & Faculty This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care. Full text access to articles subscribed to by UMD Library.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine. It is designed to support the information needs of patients and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Full text of selected journals and selected reference books published by Elsevier. Full text indexing available for all Elsevier journals from v. 1, issue 1.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Our subscribed content includes the Sustainability, Life Sciences, Arts & Sciences I-VII, XII, XV, and Ireland collections and more than 70,000 DRM-free ebooks from academic publishers.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, popular magazines and other resources covering most disciplines. A great place to start your research on any topic.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering most disciplines.
Resource Guide PDF Video Tutorials

Find news articles

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
News from thousands of U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. Includes over 100 Minnesota sources, including the Duluth News Tribune.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search newspaper databases available to the university on the ProQuest platform, including Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, U.S. Newsstream, the Historical New York Times, and more.
CBS News 60 MINUTES (ProQuest Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
Access to transcripts and nearly 500 hours of video from the news program 60 MINUTES from 1997-2014. Each news segment serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Segments are also included from the program Sunday Morning, whose timely news pieces, cultural features, and newsmaker profiles form an ideal complement to 60 MINUTES content.

More news sources

Find interviews

Use these sources and limit the Document Type to Interview.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, popular magazines and other resources covering most disciplines. A great place to start your research on any topic.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals covering most disciplines.
Resource Guide PDF Video Tutorials
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine. It is designed to support the information needs of patients and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

HLTH 3116: Principles of Epidemiology and Human Disease Research Guide