Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

African & African-American Studies Research Guide

Introduction

This guide serves as an introduction to library resources relevant to African & African-American Studies. However, this guide is not a complete list of resources. To see additional resources relevant to African & African-American Studies, visit the A-Z databases list:‚Äč

If you have questions, contact your librarian!

History, Music, and Literature Databases

These databases contain articles on African and African-American language, literature, history, and culture.

Primary Sources

These databases contain primary sources concerning African and African-American history and literature.

Using Find It

If the article is not available in full-text within the database click the UMD Find It Logo icon (available in many of the database) to help you retrieve the full-text article. Another window will open to UMD Library Catalog.

After clicking the UMD Find It icon, if the article is not available online or in the library, UMD Library Catalog will say "Check availability":

  • If you are not already logged into your library account, click Sign in to request
  • Click Interlibrary Loan and log in using your UMD credentials.
  • Choose "date needed by" and your department.
  • Submit your request.

If you need assistance contact a librarian.

Do you have more questions about FindIt? Check out this video from UMN Libraries on the subject