Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

Using Our Collections

Frequently Asked Questions

I want to visit the archives. Do I need to make an appointment? What are your hours?

You are welcome to visit the archives! Drop-in hours at Monday - Friday, 1:30 - 4:30. Other hours are available by appointment, Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 1:30 pm. We are also open occasional Saturdays by appointment 8:30 - 4:30; for more information, see Hours, Location, and Parking. Because availability of archives staff varies it is best to make an appointment, including during drop-in hours. If you let us know what you are looking for ahead of time, we can have your materials waiting for you in the research room. To make an appointment, please contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or (218) 726-8526.

What does the UMD Archives and Special Collections include?

How do I find out if you have information on a specific topic or person?

You can find information about the contents of many of our collections by searching our holdings. However, not all information about our collections is available online. If you don't see what you're looking for, please contact us at libarchives@d.umn.edu or (218) 726-8526.

I am unable to visit the archives. Can you answer questions and make scans for me?

Archives staff can assist with basic research for distance patrons, and can make limited numbers of scans. Due to staffing limitations, we generally do not make more than 20 scans per researcher per month. 

Are your collections available online?

A very small portion of our collections are available online. For more information, please see Search Our Holdings. The vast majority of our collections have not been digitized and are not available online.

I am conducting research on family history or genealogy. How should I get started?

The best place in Duluth to start your genealogy research is the Duluth Public Library. The reference librarians on the second floor of the library can help you find the best resources to research your family history.

Contact Us:

Email: libarchives@d.umn.edu

Phone: (218) 726-8526

Location: Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Annex 202 (see map)