BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. BizMiner is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. Types of reports:
BizMiner Tutorial Handout
BizMiner Video Tutorials
IBIS provides Industry market research reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries, plus Canada Industries, China Industries, and Global Industries, (This is a Key Source For Industry Overviews.) Each IBISWorld report includes:
You can find reports easily by browsing by industry sector, by SIC or NAICS codes, or or simply searching by keyword.
Search for periodical information on company name, industry, product, etc.
In our various business periodical indexes, search on company name in one box, and another word or concept in another box…. Concepts like “strategy” or “strategic” or some other word related to your research interests. Business Source Premier is the best place to search and browse popular, trade, and scholarly academic journals. Use the "company profiles" option to search for useful MarketLine reports by company name.
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It." This is a Key Source. Use it to find industry information, trends, case studies, and examples of problems and solutions.
Excellent source for 15 years of financial data, company financial ratios, annual reports and other financial data. (This is a Key Source for Financial Ratios)
Provides independent investment analysis of 1500 stocks and 2000 mutual funds. Includes current analyst reports for both particular companies and funds with an eye to what is happening in the industry. This is a highly regarded and unique source of financial information. (This is a Key Source for Financial Ratios.)
Proquest News is our best source for newspaper information with archives going back almost 30 years. This contains the full text of the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and hundreds of national and regional newspapers.
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.
Updated September 7, 2020.