About MLA Style

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.

Online Resources

Books in our Collection

Template for Citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers in MLA

Last name, First name. Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. City/Community they live in if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. Date Month Year.

For example:

Cardinal, Delores. Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. 4 April 2004.

Text-based generative AI applications “are designed to model human language and use mathematical models to predict what the next word is most likely to be based on what you are asking for. Keep in mind -- they don't think. They do NOT understand, read, choose or give you the ‘best information’" (UMN Libraries). These applications are not reliable information sources. They pull from internet sites including sites with biased and racist content and misinformation.

Before you use generative AI, check with your professor. If approved, follow their guidelines for use and attribution.

Generally, you should include the use of generative AI in the introduction or methodology section of your paper explaining how and why you used the tool.

Consult this style guide for more information:

About Zotero

Zotero is a standalone software program that works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari. It allows users to:

• Create a databases of citations by easily selecting items from your browser
• Attach and organize your PDFs
• Sync your database to the cloud
• Share group libraries with others
• Create bibliographies in a variety of styles

How to use Zotero

• Zotero quick start guide

• Zotero tutorial videos 

• Zotero help documentation

• Add a citation style to Zotero

Permalinks

Permalinks are URLs that link to a specific page that are stable and won't expire or change. Saving permalinks is especially important when searching the databases because they're typically time restricted due to licensing. Don't rely on the URL in your browser bar because it will expire and when you go to use it again it likely won't work. Below are tips for finding permalinks in several popular resources. If you need assistance, contact Research Help.

Permalinks in Articles & Books

Look under the Cite or Share heading in Articles & Books results to find the Get Link icon. You can then copy the permalink.

Permalinks in EBSCOhost Databases

Look under the Tools menu on the right side of an EBSCOhost database item record to find the Permalink icon. When click on the icon, a permalink will appear above the title. You can then copy the permalink.

Permalinks in ProQuest Databases

Look for the Copy URL icon in the top right of the page of ProQuest databases. When you click on the icon, it will automatically copy the permalink.

Permalinks in Other Databases

Database interfaces vary greatly. If you need help locating a permalink, ask a librarian.