Research Guides: MKTG 4741: Developing & Marketing New Products: Business Databases

Business & Economics Librarian

Jennifer Lund

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

218-726-6157

Subjects: Business, Economics and Marketing

Other Useful Websites

UMD Interlibrary Loan
Use ILL to request items the UMD Library doesn't own. Takes 10 business days. Not all requests can be filled.
UMD's AskUs!
Get information on all the ways to contact the Liaison Librarians at the UMD Library.
Information about Citation Managers
Information and links to different citation managers including Zotero and Mendeley.

Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff This link opens in a new window
Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless devices add the University of Minnesota Duluth to your Library Links in the Google Scholar settings.
Google Scholar is accessible by the public.
WorldCat Discovery -- UMD Students, Staff & Faculty This link opens in a new window
Find books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. This covers all subject areas. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the Get It link on each item's record.

Business Databases

Use these databases to find articles in newsletters, newspapers, trade publications, law reviews, and scholarly journals. Some of these databases will also provide specialized company reports, industry overviews, marketing reports and consumer analysis reports as well.

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Industry statistical reports available from the national to local (zip code) level.
Video Tutorials
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window
For similar content use Business Source Premier for news, articles, and company and industry reports. Use IBISWorld and Passport for industry reports.

Expiration Note: Subscription has been cancelled effective September 7, 2023.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, indexing and abstracts for top journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Community Analyst Online (CAO) This link opens in a new window
View and analyze demographic, public, and third-party sources of data to better understand the overall community in question and make better policy decisions. Analyze specific locations, geographic areas, or custom regions.

Restrictions on Use: CAO may be used for teaching and student learning purposes only. No research or administrative users are permitted. By entering this database you agree to these terms.

To gain access follow these steps:
1. Activate your ArcGIS Online account by visiting the University of Minnesota organization on ArcGIS Online, click "Sign In" on the up left corner, choose "Using your UMN X.500 Account"
2. Email U-Spatial Help Desk (uspatial@umn.edu) from your University email account asking for access to Community Analyst Online (CAO)
3. Once you are notified that your account has been set up, go to UMN's CAO and sign in "Using your UMN X.500 Account"
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 175 management journal titles.
Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff This link opens in a new window
Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless devices add the University of Minnesota Duluth to your Library Links in the Google Scholar settings.
Google Scholar is accessible by the public.
HS Talks Business & Management Collection This link opens in a new window
Specially commissioned talks from leading experts in industry, commerce, the professions and academia. The collection also includes 20 peer reviewed vocational journals.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Current corporate and financial reports on 11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies.
Mintel Reports & Global New Products Database This link opens in a new window
Market data, expert analysis, and informed recommendations on a range of markets and marketing issues. Also includes on-pack information for new products launched across 86 markets.
NetAdvantage (S&P Capital IQ) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's independent research, data and commentary on stocks, and industries. For similar content, use PitchBook, Mergent Online, IBISWorld, and Passport.
Expiration Note: Subscription has been cancelled effective November 30, 2023.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online full-text of all publications and serials from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) from 1998 to present; also includes a large collection of data sets
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search newspaper databases available to the university on the ProQuest platform, including Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, U.S. Newsstream, the Historical New York Times, and more.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text for regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Resources related to the business of sports including industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports and news, international market publications, customized research, and directories.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive periodical directory information for over 186,000 magazines, newspapers, and journals, international in scope, and in all formats.
Wall Street Journal, 1984-Current (ProQuest Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from the WSJ (1984 - present). You may also browse by date of publication.
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Westlaw, a Thomson Reuters product, provides access to federal and state case law statutes regulations law reviews and journals American Law Reports, and the American Jurisprudence 2nd Ed. legal encyclopedia. This resource also provides access to more than 4,900 news and business information publications.
Westlaw | News This link opens in a new window
Read newspapers, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and wires from the United States or around the world. Select the area in the world you want to focus on or browse by topic.

Kathryn A. Martin Library

MKTG 4741: Developing & Marketing New Products

Business & Economics Librarian

Other Useful Websites

Business Databases