Skip to main content
University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark
KATHRYN A. MARTIN LIBRARY

MKTG 4741: Developing & Marketing New Products

Spring 2020, for Linda Rochford

My Remote Contact Information

  • Phone: 218-726-6157 (is forwarded)
  • Email: jvileta@d.umn.edu
  • Virtual meetings via Zoom or Google Hangouts for one on one, screen sharing, and group meetings. Please contact me for coordination.

Research Guide

Selected Sources for New Products

Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Marketing Databases
Search Engines
Need More Help?

 

 

topBusiness Periodical Databases

   
Business and Company Resource Center

Business Insights: Essentials
Company & industry news linked to electronic reference books. Contains histories, market shares, rankings, industry surveys, and investment reports.  Note, use company, industry overviews and article search options.

 

 

 
 

Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 Marketline Company and Industry Profiles.  Do keyword searches for articles. Reports are both country specific and global

 

   

ProQuest News
Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles going back over 30 years. ProQuest News provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street JournalSearch for keywords.

   
Lexis Nexis

WestLawNews
Offers searching of court rules, statutes, regulations, administrative decisions, and U.S. Supreme Court briefs, among others. Search by keywords or browse by content, materials or topic.

This database contains more than 4,900 News and business information publications. This is a key source for news and trade publications.
Duluth News Tribune
 

Duluth News Tribune
A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local businesses, business people, state industries, and economic issues.  Covers 11/1995 - present.

top Other Periodical Databases

google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It."   Search using keywords.

 

   
MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.

   


top Marketing Databases

   

Business Analyst Online


Business Analyst Online (BAO) Utilizing extensive demographic, consumer spending, and business data, BAO provides detailed information and insights about consumers, their lifestyles and buying behavior, and businesses in your market area. With BAO, you can:
 
  • Analyze trade areas, competition, supply and demand
  • Evaluate sites
  • Determine population within a specific drive-time or distance
  • Identify and segment customers
  • Reach your customers more effectively
  • Explore markets in the US
  •  
To start using this database, I recommend viewing this  short video:
FAQ's are here:
 
   
IBIS World Logo
 

IBIS World Industry Reports provide industry market research reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries, plus Canada, China, and Global Industries. Each IBISWorld report includes:

  • An overview of the industry structure
  • The current industry performance and key external drivers
  • The industry outlook and lifecycle
  • Products and markets, including the supply chain, major markets and international trade
  • Competitive landscape and market share
  • Major companies
  • Key statistics and data.
   

Passport Database
An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. The Passport contains over a million demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. To access thousands of international company profiles in Passport, click on "Browse Reports," and then click on "Company Profiles."

Use Text Search mode.  Note that you can filter results by country, category, etc.

This is a VERY Key Source

 

Mintel Reports
Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis.
Use keyword searches. You may find some particular products mentioned along with consumer demographics and psychographics.

This is a VERY Key Source

 

Reference USA
 

Reference USA
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination.

ReferenceUSA FAQ and Tutorials

How to Use ReferenceUSA
   
Image result for sma sports market
 

SMA: Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRnet)
provides resources related to the business of sports including industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports and news, international market publications, customized research, and directories.
   
 

Trade Associations

Most industries have Trade Associations, which collect useful information that can promote their respective member companies.  Two large lists of Trade Associations are found below that are useful for browsing.  Use the search engines, Google or Bing, to search for specific industry associations, for example, Coffee or Beer. Websites of Trade Associations can often provide useful clues or directly provide reports or statistical data.

  List of Notable Industry Trade Groups in the United States -- Wikipedia
  List of Trade Associations from the Planning Shop
  Use Google or Bing to search for a particular trade association by industry.
   
  International Information
  If your New Product project requires information related to foreign countries, our Passport database, listed above, would be our first main source.  However, we have numerous ways to find country based information, and depending on your approach, some sources may be better than others.  So, if you are working with foreign country information, it would be best to arrange a meeting with me, to help outline your research path.
   
  Industry Overviews and Analysis
  Your first assignment requires Industry Analysis.  Many of the above databases can help with this research, and this web page,  Industry Overview Reports, provides some instructions.  MarketLine Reports, if current ones can be found for your industries, are excellent, providing Porter's Five Forces AnalysisIBIS World Reports provide essential industry overviews.  After you discover which industries you are researching, please contact me via email with this information, and I may be able to send you additional sources of industry overviews.
   
  Key Competitor Information
  For larger public companies,  Mergent Online, NetAdvantage, and Hoover's Company Profiles, all provide close direct competitor listings. Search for a company and then look for the "Competitors" tab.
   
 

Questionnaires, Surveys, and Focus Groups

  Students may want to consider doing primary research on a given business topic. Primary research allows you to discover and create current information on a specific or localized topic.  We have many books in our Library that can help you better understand how to do this work.
   
 

top

Search Engines

 

google

 


The Google is the first place to go to search the web.

Bing
"Bing" is Microsoft's Web Search Engine.
 

 

Citation & Presentation Information

How to Cite your Sources

Presentation Skills

 

 

 

top


Need more help?

Read your UMD Business Research FAQ's

Contact Jim Vileta, UMD Business Librarian