Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Minnesota

Kathryn A. Martin Library

MKTG 4751: Retailing

Fall 2019, for Ahmed F. Maamoun

My Remote Contact Information

  • Phone: 218-726-6157 (is forwarded)
  • Email: jvileta@d.umn.edu
  • Virtual meetings via Zoom or Google Hangouts for one on one, screen sharing, and group meetings. Please contact me for coordination.

Research Guide

Store shelves full of productFinding Books
Business Periodical Databases
Other Periodical Databases
Financial Databases
Marketing Databases
Statistical Databases
Other Databases
Search Engines
 

 

 

topFinding Books

umd catalog
UMD Catalog (Advanced)
Search for books, government documents, reference books, videos and periodicals by title using the Advanced Search of the UMD Online Catalog. We have over 380,000 books in our Library.
   
worldcat

Worldcat
Find over 450 MILLION books, government documents, videos found in thousands of libraries. THIS IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR FINDING AND ORDERING MATERIALS THROUGH OUR FREE INTERLIBRARY LOAN SERVICE. Interlibrary Loans often require 1-3 weeks or more to fulfill.

This is the Best source for finding books and accessing them via Inter Library Loan.

 

   
google book search

Google Book Search
With this exciting and very new service, search for any keywords and discover which books are highly ranked for them. You may be able to find and read a few pages of the the scanned book in context.

A Very good Source -- search full text of over ten million books. When you find a good book here, check our catalog to see if we have it, or access it via our Inter Library Loan System.

 

All-University Catalog Book Search
and search all U of MN campuses just as you would our campus. You can mark "Get-It" for any circulating book held at any campus, including UMD, and it will be pulled and held for you at our Circulation desk. You will be notified by e-mail. UMD requests are usually filled within one day and requests from other campuses can take 2 to 4 working days. This is faster than Inter Library Loan as there is no intermediary processing your request. This is available for faculty, staff and students. FREE! All University of Minnesota book resources are now at your finger tips!!
   
  Marketing Books
  Hundreds of recent books with interesting ideas in all branches of Marketing
   
 

Merchandising Books

Is a bibliography containing dozens of recent books in the UMD Library on retail display and merchandising.  These books contain a lot of good ideas.

topBusiness Periodical Databases

   

Business Insights: Essentials
Company & industry news linked to electronic reference books. Contains histories, market shares, rankings, SWOT, industry surveys, and investment reports.  Note Company Histories, and rankings and industry overviews in the Advanced Search.

 

 

 
 

Business Source Premier
Full text of over 3,400 business periodicals. This is our largest business database. It provides our best access to scholarly journals. It also has special reports, including "SWOT" analysis. Note the "company profiles" tab, which will allow you to access over 5,000 MarketLine Company Profiles.

 

   
   

ProQuest News
Contains the full text of newspaper articles from over 350 titles going back over 30 years. ProQuest News provides our only source of electronic access to the Wall Street Journal.

 

Wall Street Journal

 

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. This database version from Proquest includes business news and analysis, company news, regular columns, special reports, articles on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, and Reuters news stories. Excludes charts and free standing tabular data, such as stock tables and other exchange listings.
Full text coverage: Jan 2, 1984 - current

Lexis Nexis

WestLaw News

Westlaw News contains more than 4,900 news and business information publications.  This is a key source of news and trade publication information.
   

top Other Periodical Databases

   
Duluth News Tribune

Duluth News Tribune
A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local businesses, business people, state industries, and economic issues. 

Covers 11/1995 - present.

   
google scholar

Google Scholar
Indexes scholarly literature. Strong in the areas of medicine, engineering, the sciences, and business. Provides relevancy rankings based on the citation patterns of the articles. Sources are linked to UMD Library electronic holdings via "Find It."

 

 

   
MasterFile Premier

MasterFile Premier
Contains popular and general interest magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Many business topics can be researched here as well. Over 2600 titles are indexed, with over 1950 titles available in full text.

   

top Financial Databases

   
Mergent Online

Mergent Online
Provides business and financial information for 23,000 U.S. and international companies. Financials for 15 years, balance sheets, income statements "as reported" and can be downloaded to spreadsheet. Includes company overviews, histories, financial ratios, and much more. Mergent Online IS OUR BEST SOURCE FOR COMPANY ANNUAL REPORTS.

 

 

   
MorningStar

MorningStar
Provides independent investment analysis of 1500 stocks and 2000 mutual funds. Includes current analyst reports for both particular companies and funds with an eye to what is happening in the industry. This is a highly regarded and unique source of financial information.

 

   
NetAdvantage

NetAdvantage
Contains large Industry Surveys (and overviews of markets) for leading companies in 52 industries. Search by company or industry. Standard & Poor’s stock analysis is available for public companies.

 note "Multiline Retail" and "Specialty Retail" reports in their Industry section.

 

Value Line

Value Line
Provides the current relative rating for performance and safety together with estimated yields, the latest earnings, dividends and p/e data, guidance on current investment policy, analysis and forecasts of the national economy and the stock market. Value Line offers views on the economy and the stock market as well as on stocks of special interest. This is a highly regarded and unique source of financial information.      

(HOW TO READ A VALUE LINE REPORT)

   
   


top Marketing Databases

   

Business Analyst Online

 
Business Analyst Online (BAO) Utilizing extensive demographic, consumer spending, and business data, BAO provides detailed information and insights about consumers, their lifestyles and buying behavior, and businesses in your market area. With BAO, you can:
 
  • Analyze trade areas, competition, supply and demand
  • Evaluate sites
  • Determine population within a specific drive-time or distance
  • Identify and segment customers
  • Reach your customers more effectively
  • Explore markets in the US
FAQ's are here:
If you create an account properly, reports are generated at no charge...if you see a request for payment, you did not created your account properly.
United States Census Bureau

IBIS World Industry Reports

IBIS provides Industry market research reports on over 1,300 U.S. industries, plus Canada Industries, China Industries, and Global Industries, Each IBISWorld report includes:

  • An overview of the industry structure
  • The current industry performance and key external drivers
  • The industry outlook and lifecycle
  • Products and markets, including the supply chain, major markets and international trade
  • Competitive landscape and market share
  • Major companies
  • Key statistics and data.


You can find reports easily by browsing by industry sector, by SIC or NAICS codes, or or simply searching by keyword.

Global Marketing Information Database

Passport (formerly GMID)
An integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. Passport contains over a million demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. To access thousands of international company profiles in Passport, click on "Browse Reports," and then click on "Company Profiles."

 

Mintel Reports
Database containing over 600 consumer product and service marketing reports. Most are US and UK based. They are full of amazing detail and analysis.

 

   


 
Reference USA
Directory of U.S. business. Lists size of company, year established, type of business, credit rating, top personnel, yearly sales and more. Data can be searched by name of company, name of officers, geographic area, SIC, size, revenue or any combination. 

 
 

 

 

topStatistical Databases

 

 

   
   

topOther Databases

 
  Business Plans Handbooks
book cover "Contains examples of detailed plans for starting or developing various kinds of businesses. Categories within plans include statement of purpose, market description, personnel requirements, financial needs, etc.  (See Jim Vileta for accessing other Business Plans.)
   

Hoover's Company Profiles 

contains information for more than 40,000 major public and private companies worldwide. It includes overviews and histories, strategies, financial and employment data, lists of products and key competitors, names of key officers, and contact information. These Profiles provide context of industries in which these companies operate. 


 
Logo of RKMA Marketing Research Handbook

RKMA Marketing Research Handbooks

 

Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes 12 biennial business reference handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace.

Each handbook includes market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics. In addition to in-depth analysis, the handbooks include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.

   
Wikipedia Wikipedia
A multilingual encyclopedia that is collaboratively edited and maintained by thousands of users via wiki software, and is hosted and supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. In addition to typical encyclopedia entries, Wikipedia includes information more often associated with almanacs, gazetteers, and specialist magazines, as well as coverage of current events. It has over 6 million entries, and is constantly growing. Many articles are long, detailed, with sources and related links. Wikipedia has been controversial because of its open collaborative nature, however it has received good marks in recent scholarly journals. This may be a good place to get an overview of business related definitions, topics or issues.  Great source for footnote sources and links on companies

top Search Engines

   
google
Google
The first place to go to search the web. One of four unique search engines
Bing Search
Microsoft's Search Engine
   
 

 

Key Reference Book for Retailing

 

 

Book Jacket

Plunkett's Retail Industry Almanac 2018

PLUNKETT'S RETAIL INDUSTRY ALMANAC 2018 Key Findings: • Plunkett Research lists top 500 companies in retail and names the top trends changing the industry for the mid term. Key Features: • Industry trends analysis, market data and competitive intelligence • Market forecasts and Industry Statistics • Industry Associations and Professional Societies List • In-Depth Profiles of hundreds of leading companies • Industry Glossary •